We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Must”
Review of Buena Vista Cafe

Buena Vista Cafe
Ranked #48 of 5,665 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Cafe, Delicatessen, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Absolute Must”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

First time back since 1995 and it was just as I remembered. I love this place!!! The Irish Coffee is unmatched by anyone. This is the only place I have ever seen that evryone in the place is drinking the exact same drink. Of course they have other drinks, beer and wine but when you're there, Irish Coffee is a must. If you do not like crowds, you might think this isn't the place for you. But, if you go your dislike of crowds will melt away.This is a place you will never forget.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard52077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    950
    593
    178
    45
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for people watching!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Situated at the Cable Car Hyde Street turnaround at Fisherman's Wharf, this diner offers fast friendly service at good prices. Try and sit at the right side of the bar counter and watch the stream of Irish coffees being prepared!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank UkChino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“AN OLD DEAR FRIEND”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Returning to SF after many years hiatus, we visited our old hangout...it was like putting on an old shoe...Irish coffee and Guinness as remembered, ample food...crowded, energy, view the bay, cable cars...it is SF!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calif_wino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earls Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stylish and Great Irish Coffee”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a relaxed but stylish cafe/bar with great food, good service and in a great location. We visited twice during our visit to San Francisco.
We loved the traditional bar and waiters and watching them prepare the irish coffees is a joy!
Well worth a visit when you are in the Fishermans Wharf area!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lively, Popular, Irish Coffee”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

No dislikes. We actually got a table! I was just too tired to enjoy it by the time we got there... Irish Coffee was good, I'm just not much of a whisky drinker.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank aklindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buena Vista Cafe also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Buena Vista Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing