We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Aquarium of the Bay
from $19.50
More Info
from $74.00
More Info
from $98.00
More Info
Reviews (1,480)
Filter reviews
1,142 results
Traveler rating
243
363
389
112
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
363
389
112
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea life star fish underwater tunnel touch pool sharks and rays river otters glass tunnel fish swim small sharks behind the scenes fisherman's wharf tanks creatures bay petting tubes conservation
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,142 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

We came here with our little one who did enjoy the sealife but for $28 / adult, I expected more. Its pretty much 1 loop where you see the aquarium from the bottom, which was cool. But thats pretty much it. There is another floor on your way to the exit of otters and a few other animals (snakes, frogs, rtc).

There is parking across the street in the parking garage for $12/hr. Street parking is limited.

Thank lilrox724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This aquarium is what I thought it would be (an aquarium), but my daughters (even teenagers!) really enjoyed it. It kind of took my girls back to when they were little. But, they did ask to go there-I didn’t force it.

Thank 463leahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We LOVED this aquarium. Yes, it's way smaller than the Shedd in Chicago, etc. but it's perfect for a young kid. There is so much to do in San Francisco, it's nice to have smaller but high quality attractions. The two underwater tunnels were so much fun. The sea otter exhibit was wonderful. The gift shop was great, clean bathrooms, easy to find drinking fountains.

Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spend two hours in the aquarium of the bay, it is like walking under the sea, a great variety of fish and other marine species, a place to enjoy marine life.

Thank pablo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice place with some good exhibits. But variety is very limited. It certainly it does not live up to the hype around it. If you have some time to kill and you are in the area, it is an OK place to visit. But nothing worth planning for.

1  Thank SeshKomanduri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have never been to any aquariu, ever that has really made me say 'wow' and this is probably one to add to the list. THe underwater tunnels are pretty neat. We went early in the morning so skipped thew crowds. They have a couple of touching pools which are fun for kids. It didn't have quite as many exhibits as some others I have been to. All aquariums are never less than $30/pp and this is no exception to the rule. The Jellyfish were the highlight, but that's becuase I love jellyfish. Im sure kids would love this.

1  Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This aquarium near Fishermans Wharf has some good exhibits but is fairly limited for the cost of entry.

Thank dsl652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

Rude, uninformed, uninterested staff and limited exhibits make this aquarium a must skip. It’s unfortunate because if the staff seemed to enjoy their jobs more, the limited exhibits could have been at least enjoyable. Waste of money.

Thank wccope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

This was just after pier 39. Its nice escape from the heat for a half hr or so. Tickets were $17 each i think. Inside are eels sharks and turtles and many more. There is an awesome half moon tank you can walk under. Worth a vist.

Thank BrendanD382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

This aquarium is average at best. You would be far better served going to the aquarium at the academy of the sciences which is incredibly well done. They have tons of super cool animals I had never seen in an aquarium before (mantis shrimp!) and it was really beautiful and well done

2  Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews