We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid sushi for a fair price”

Akiko's Sushi Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #111 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Union Square
Great Neck, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Solid sushi for a fair price”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Small restaurant that is big on quality. The miso soup was great (I like it without seaweed). The seaweed salad was a little too wet with dressing for my taste, but very fresh. The tuna and salmon sashimi were top notch. I would eat here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gnLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    102
    23
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Tiny Bar but good Sushi”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I visited this place for the first time this year since my co-worker insisted that we come here. I'm not an expert when it comes to sushi, but I liked the food and it was nice to eat in a tiny restaurant. The service is fast since you can only seat like max. 15 people. This is also the downside since if your party consists four or more, it might be tricky to get a table.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great sushi - thanks TA reviewers”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My colleagues and I were on our last day in San Francisco and fancied sushi. A quick visit to TA mobile app and just a few blocks down from our hotel (Mark Hopkins) was Akiko's. AS we waited for our colleague, the doorman asked if he could help "We're off to a sushi bar - we good thanks" "Which one" "Akiko's" "Great choice - one of the best in town"

The combination f TA reviews and local endorsement sealed it, so off we went. As has been said already, it is tiny so you might want to make a reservation. Luckily for us a table cleared, so we got seated quickly. Whilst not a sushi connoisseur, it was one of the best ones I had eaten - my colleague more so and he was impressed.

We jus tasked the waiter to bring us a selection and the stand-out favourite for us all were the California rolls.

Service might not have been uber-sharp, but not bad. The bill was pretty OK too.

Well worth a visit - and only a few steps away from Union Square

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Mediocre sushi; odd service”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Not sure why this place gets so many outstanding accolades. I've been a sushi connoisseur for three decades and found this place to be just OK. It is a very small restaurant and there are a few tables and 3 seats at the sushi bar. I sat at the sushi bar hoping to converse with and order through the sushi chef but he apparently speaks no English. As soon as I said a word to him the waitress jumped in took my orders. The quality of the fish was good and fresh but not special. Being a small restaurant the choices are limited. I'm sure there is much better sushi to be found in SF.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steveprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
704 reviews
490 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Fresh Sushi, Tiny Little Place”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I like this place, something neat about only being able to seat 15 people. The sushi is alway fresh and really tasty. The downside is they are often out of various things on the menu, which is frustrating if you have something in mind you want eat that day. The service is pretty prompt.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaisyDot24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akiko's Sushi Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Akiko's Sushi Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing