We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want sushi on a Monday? Not a problem at Akiko!”

Akiko's Sushi Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #115 of 5,741 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Union Square
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Want sushi on a Monday? Not a problem at Akiko!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I accompanied my wife shopping (Saks, Nieman Marcus) around Union Square and found ourselves wanting dinner at around 6 p.m. We opened our trusty Trip Advisor app and found Akiko was only 2 blocks away. We asked our saleslady, and she smiled and said it was one of the restaurants she recommended. The place is tiny, and the bathroom is in the next building basement, but the sushi is some of the best I have had. I ordered a chef's selection of sashimi, my wife vegetarian and yellow tail maki. The fish was melt-in-your-mouth tender, and the flavors delicate. Most sushi restaurants in our hometown are closed on Mondays, and I am always skeptical about how fresh fish is on Mondays. Akiko had only 5 types of fish available, but all were excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ORFdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    107
    24
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wrong restaurant led to 2nd best sushi”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled on this place when we had meant to go to the other akiko on bush street. We returned here later before a red eye for delicious, light, fresh sushi with excellent service. Highly suggest the unagi salad which combines greens, avocado, yellow tail and eel sashimi. Simple but delicious and fulfilled salad need. Although all 3 very good, we loved double star, sumo, and disco in that order. All enjoyed with an inexpensive chardonnay!

Helpful?
Thank Murat C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good sushi”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had a very good meal there. Be early or reserve, because they have only 15 seats! I definitly recommend this the restaurant! Enjoy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yogit34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

May lady and I in SF on our trip. Spent a very full day on bicycles. Time for a good meal. Called Akiko's at 1930 for a reservation at 2030 and no problem. So glad we called and went there. The establishment is tiny - seats for 14 or 15 max. Three staff. One waitress, one sushi chef, one lady in the back washing dishes etc. But excellent sashimi and rolls. We had salmon, yellowtail and escolar sashimi - the escolar was some of the best we have ever had. We also shared three rolls - a Kamikaze, a Sumo and a Swamp Roll. All were excellent - swamp roll comes topped with seaweed salad - very very good. We have both eaten sushi in many different countries - including Japan - and this was some of the best we have ever had. And at a reasonable price!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger61Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“'If yourrrrrrrrrr going to San Fran Ciscoooooo...make sure you visit this SUSHI heaven'”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is great about trip advisor; you arrive in a city, type in a restaurant style, go for the TOP 10 selection and almost never be disappointed!
We called at 7 PM on the way to San Fran out of Burlington, pulled up Japanese restaurants on the tablet, called, reserved and 30 minutes later we were sitting at a table!
Ate as much as we could with 2 adults and had a 55 dollar bill, had to sit had a table with a couple who turned out to be very nice (ended up in the night owl, a bar pretty close by)
Excellent food, 4 tables, fast honest service, great prices! Very good quality sushi
GO!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrusselsLoneranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akiko's Sushi Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Akiko's Sushi Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing