We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sushi and Japanese food, small restaurent but very good service and quality for the price.”

Akiko's Sushi Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #125 of 5,665 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Union Square
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sushi and Japanese food, small restaurent but very good service and quality for the price.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a Hotel around the corner, excellent sushi at very reasonable price, very nice service in a small (very small) interesting atmosphere restaurent ( 4 tables). Good happy hour prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenoitAndreani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    99
    22
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland Center, Maine
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Secret Sushi Haven”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

If you are looking for good Sushi in San Francisco, you will find plenty. But a truly great find was this tiny classy place hidden from view...literally, there is no name out front. My husband and 2 girls walked back and forth puzzled - it said 542 Mason and we saw no restaurant. Not giving up we looked for the door and low and behold there she was.

Reservations Highly recommended as there are only a few tables in the modern elegant dining area and they were already booked. They welcomed us to take 4 seats at the sushi bar. Limited menu, not much for my 11 yr old who is a not a big Sushi fan, but Sushi was the Freshest we've ever had, made with precision right in front of us while the chefs talked to us about our trip. The 49er roll was out if this world!! Worth the search and VERY reasonably priced for the quality.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TollerAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sushi”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place has become my go-to-sushi spot here in San Francisco. Sushi is always fresh and delicious and the service is great. It's a small restaurant but that means you don't have to wait long. If you want amazing, fresh, well-prepared sushi for an affordable amount of money, come here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rjl3045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good sushi”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This restaurant was very good, the food tasted great and service was good.
The caveat, is that this is a very very small place, 4 tables and 3 bar seats. Twice I came by and it was full. Call ahead to see if there's room before you go.

As for food, the Tuna Tartare is pretty good, but could use some more Avocado. The special rolls were pretty good, we had the Special Salmon Roll which was amazing, and the Disco roll was good too.
The salmon skin roll was not as good, I usually like salmon skin but this one was like rubber...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

All the good reviews are spot on. Great fish in a tiny place. I was staying in a nearby hotel, so I carried out my feast through the four full tables.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dax G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akiko's Sushi Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Akiko's Sushi Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing