We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I live in chinatown and I only eat here!”
Review of Yan's Kitchen

Yan's Kitchen
Ranked #1,634 of 5,664 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Financial District
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I live in chinatown and I only eat here!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Best food and value in chinatown. Food is made to order and service is fast. Combo plate gets you an entre, rice, and app for $5.99

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank watersev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great portions! Great people! We had cashew chicken and general Tso chicken and they were both excellent. If you want great Chinese in china town look no further. Also great prices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So delicious! just what we needed”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had just arrived in SF and were looking for some good chinese food! We parked and started wandering around china town and before we even got there we stumbled upon this small place. They were closing soon but the couple who owned it let us in. They are cash only, so make sure you have cash on you. I only had 13 dollars on me, and we got 2 meals out of it. Pretty good. The woman came over and accommodated us, and told us what would be good. I ordered spicy chicken with garlic and my bf ordered kung pao beef. So good, and had extra to bring home. The couple was also really nice in suggesting where to go/what to do in SF. Love it! would definitely come back if in SF again!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

For $5.99 get a good meal (I had the garlic chicken), two egg rolls, hot tea, and including rice. Only eight tables with two workers. The cook and the hard working lady does the rest (including phone orders). Both are very nice. Beware of other Chinese eateries in Chinatown. Some will not tell you the meal does not include rice and when the bill comes it is close to double what you thought it was.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank captainmidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent dim sum”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by staff at nearby Omni hotel. Our food and service were excellent! Highly recommend!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jlrb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yan's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Yan's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing