We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent diner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mason's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mason's Restaurant
Ranked #2,722 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Greece
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Had all my breakfasts there. Busy between 8-9 in the morning but it didnt bother me. Coffee is plain but for food, eggs etc you have a dozen choices.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank myrtia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A real diner, with excellent pancakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was the second time I've had breakfast at Mason's while in San Francisco, and it serves the best pancakes I've had anywhere outside home-cooked. The orange juice is freshly cooked, fruit good, and food hot. Best is the maple syrup: I had always said that I didn't like maple syrup until trying it afresh at Mason's, and I'm now converted.

It's a popular place, but there's a fair amount of room, and I've seen cops in there, which is probably a good sign.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Always dependable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have been going to Mason's for 6 years now. Not only do I visit, but my family comes here on vacations....my daughters look forward to breakfast at Mason's! The food is great, and well priced. the service is always great....and attentive. With so many options to chose from in San Francisco, we still find ourselves coming back to Mason's time and again. It is a great place to start your day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mybloodhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best Boeuf bourguignon in SF”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

It is simple but amazing meatdish to be found in San Francisco.
Service is friendly and fast, wines are okay and prices overall as well
If you want a quick bite with value for your money this is the place to go to

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fred038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Mason's California Cuisine Casual and Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

You don't have to dress up for dinner or make a reservation, this spot at 320 Mason St. in San Francisco was good for a tasty meal. Italian influence and a varied menu made it a good spot to stop and dine during our about town shopping evening. Would go again as I will definitely be back to San Francisco!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Des1Edmonton_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mason's Restaurant also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Mason's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing