We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Irish pub with quality food”
Review of Johnny Foley's

Johnny Foley's
Ranked #105 of 5,737 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Union Square
Raby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good Irish pub with quality food”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We went for am meal and some drinks in Foleys as it looked like a nice place and was quite busy. The place is well decorated with typical Irish pictues and furniture and this adds a lot of character and warmth. We had a really nice meal of seafood and fish dishes and the quality was very nice indeed and the service excellent. A great variety of drinks help the night roll along so it was a very pleasurable night. On leaving around 10pm there was an Irish band about to start playing - but with jet-lag from our trip from the UK we just couldn't stay to hear it. The place was busy for a Tuesday night so it must have a good reputation for music, food and drink. Good value for the whole night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeGraham379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    451
    133
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pentwater, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Guinness”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Very loud but Irish they had had Irish music. I had the chicken curry- good kick to it . My husband had the baked 1/2 rosemary chicken- very good with mashed potatoes. I'd go back but want to try an Irish coffee. Not as Irish as I had hoped!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank proach1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
“Worth checking out”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is a cool place to stop if you're out and about in Union Square. It was super busy (Saturday night) but our server couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Food and drink prices seemed reasonable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank breeon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Irish pub!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We went here before dinner for a Guiness and Jameson. Kind of hard to get wrong. Our server was quick and very friendly. With many choices of Irish pubs around town, this one was great. Highly recommended!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donbethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Irish Food-Atmosphere-Music”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I am from Ireland and I felt at home! The decor and pleasant staff reminded me of the pubs back in Ireland! I stopped in 3 times during my trip and each visit was exceptional! As large as the place is, the layout offers many nooks & crannies to enjoy an personal dining experience or a group gathering. Expansive beverage list! Bartenders were kind enough to offer me a taste of some draft beers I did not know. Fish & Chips was my favorite meal. I also enjoyed the Almond Black Pepper Crusted Salmon Filet and Wild Mushroom Ravioli during my visits. Desserts, loved 2: Bread Pudding and Vanilla Crème Brulée. Be sure to check out the Dueling Piano's In The Cellar.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KatVonDe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Foley's also viewed

 

Been to Johnny Foley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing