We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A glass of wine by the fireplace...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Vine

Hidden Vine
Ranked #673 of 5,627 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Financial District
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A glass of wine by the fireplace...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

One of the greatest finds in San Francisco off of the beaten track in a bit of an alley-like block. Wonderful ambience - especially if you land in the seats in front of the fireplace. There's a private area to host private parties and an outdoor area for a round of bocce ball. They have a vast selection of wines and finger foods. It tends to get crowded though so come a bit early for happy hour or during a weekday for some R&R!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trang h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent wine bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

My fiancé and I stumbled upon this bar on our first trip to San Francisco. We loved it so much that we hunted it down on our second trip when we learned it had a new location. This place is fantastic! The wine tastings are a good way to go and at a great price. The staff are always willing to help you out if you have questions about the selection and they are really nice! We love this, it is now one of our "musts" whenever we are in San Francisco.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jptravels619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
2 reviews
“Bacci ball court!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Good selection of wines and a nice time. I loved that they spent time to educate me on the wine areas of California.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sawyerm97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great wine bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Hidden Vine Wine Bar was located a few blocks from the Omni Hotel. They have an interesting wine and food menu. The food is small plates and the wine is representative of all of the major wine producing nations. We are Cabernet Sauvignon lovers so we ordered glasses of the Hearst Ranch Winery "Bunkhouse" 2010 from Paso Robles. It had a very nice taste and a slight oaky finish. We liked it enough to buy a bottle from them. We also ordered a cheese plate with specialty cheeses, a chutney, and almonds. Charisa was our bartender and she was great. What a great experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Romantic Interlude”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Between Washington and Clay on Merchant, a small alley running off Battery is where we found Hidden Vine. Loved the place! The feel is that of a local destination, cozy leather seating, charming brick walls, wood bar and above average wine selection. We ordered a pickled vegetable selection and a citrus salad for light appetizers. A perfect cocktail hour and wind down spot to reconnect with loved ones after a busy day. The no rush attitude from the bartender who assisted us was appreciated. Hidden Vine offered us a calm pleasing haven to exhale.

Helpful?
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Vine also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Hidden Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing