We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for Recovering from Jet Lag!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #36 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for Recovering from Jet Lag!”
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed here 2 nights after flying from London. It is a modern boutique hotel with very comfortable rooms and friendly and helpful staff. They did not blink when we arrived with rucksacks. It provided everything we wanted for a place to crash for a couple of nights. The food in the dining room was good and they were very happy for us to have a small amount not at a normal meal time. The bar area is humming in the evening but it didn't bother us at all. The location is excellent. Would recommend it and definitely stay again if we could.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    439
    135
    61
    46
See reviews for
224
679
98
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I'll keep this short and sweet..!

The best hotel I have ever stayed in. Service, rooms, location, food, everything outstanding, I cannot recommend this hotel enough! 5***** 20 out of 10 !!!!

View of the bay bridge is breathtaking,

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazzi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

The hotel is a boutique hotel and so is designed to be a little bit quirky, hopefully in a way that matches the customer's quirks!

I liked it.

The only issue I found was that my iPhone only worked intermittently in the hotel. Not sure if this was an AT&T issue, an iPhone issue or a roaming problem.

The concierge service is fantastic - really knowledgeable and helpful.

Room is well-equipped, I was able to remove a splinter just using the sewing kit in the room!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnascroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed here for 3 days and it is in a great location by the water (the Bay Bridge, the Ferry Building) and the hotel is beautifully designed with great rooms and common areas.
If not for the first night, I would have given it a much better review. Apparently their policy is to overbook their hotel. After a very long journey from Hawaii, we arrived at 11pm to be told that they had overbooked and they were moving us to the Hyatt Regency around the corner for one night. GREAT!! Admittedly, they did pay for that night and when we returned the next day they upgraded us to a suite. Parking an astronomical $45 per night!! REALLY!!?? Is this the most expensive parking in the world? Apparently common to the area though. Restaurant was nice, bar scene was hopping. I think they have a lot of conferences here so quite businessey (near the financial district so that figures).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnabelNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights and the Hotel is excellent. Good standard of rooms and nice and quiet. Good lcoation just approx 10 mins walk to Fishermans Wharf and 15 mins walk to main shopping malls. Keith the Concierge was very helpful with recommendations and advice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunmoreaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I've stayed at Hotel Vitale twice in the past few months, for business purposes. I find the staff to be friendly, knowledgeable and invested in their work at the hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean, have beautiful views with all the modern comforts and free wi-fi, which is always nice for a business traveler. I expected a bit of noise when I stayed on the 2nd floor during my second stay but was surprised, even though the bar was bustling, to find the room was quiet. I will stay here every time I travel to San Francisco for work!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooklynite11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

stayed 4 days there with my 10 yr twins and wife. the hotel location is great, the decor and colour schemes are elegant and trendy. overall we had a very pleasant stay and thought the front line staff was superb, friendly and professional. shame that room service and car valetting are not to the same standards.
otherwise the room was ok but its layout not perfect. for instance there is very little cupboard space.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gglucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
441 reviews
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#51 of 229 in San Francisco
1,284 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Griffon
Hotel Griffon
#29 of 229 in San Francisco
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
1,285 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#11 of 229 in San Francisco
1,368 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing