We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel, perfectly located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #36 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Fantastic boutique hotel, perfectly located”
Reviewed October 9, 2009

This is a great boutique hotel - the staff are super friendly and knowledgeable, the room was very comfortable and quiet. It is located across from the Ferry Building in which there are a number of very good restaurants of all level of dining, and the fantastic farmer's market on Saturday mornings (even as a traveller there are lots of goodies for you).
No complaints at all (which is a rarity for us).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvrtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    440
    135
    61
    46
See reviews for
224
679
98
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This is a great hotel. The room itself was nice, nothing over the top.....very clean and very comfortable. (The linens and towels were top notch and the toiletries were nice). My only complaint was the light that came in the top of the blinds in the morning around 7:00. (We were traveling the first time in 2 years without our young children and were looking forward to sleeping in late). I was kicking myself for forgetting the eye shades.

The location is wonderful. Each morning we walked across the street to the Ferry Building for a latte and some baked goods. We hit the Farmer's Market there on Saturday morning.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmama39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Amazing staff at this peaceful oasis in the city. Stayed in the circular suite - amazing views and a bathtub in the room to enjoy them in. I love the location of this hotel. Go to the ferry building to wander around or take a ferry.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huibrela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, IA
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel was a little pricey, but totally worth it! The view was lovely. The room was impeccable, spacious, modern and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I only wish we could have stayed more than one night!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonshadow8705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

I wanted to love the Hotel Vitale. We love the FERRY BUILDING MARKETPLACE this hotel is steps away. Public transportation all around.
Convenient from the stop on the Bart. Joie de vivre Hotel chain. One of the chains more pricey hotels.
Spotless bathroom (but no place to put your clothes and a drain that did not drain) Comfortable beds with soft linens (carpet in sad need of a shampooing (441) Indifferent staff (sorry, but true) Did not tell us anything about the hotel when we checked in. No information in room on the Spa. $45 for valet overnight parking ouch!.(I know, I know, San Francisco)
At 11am they would not even sell us a cup of coffee in the Americano.
Lavender is the Hotel's signature scent and that is the nowhere on the description of the hotel. I am allergic to Lavender; Fortunately, I had CLARITON with me so I could breathe! We booked a room with no view because it was only available with two beds.
Pet friendly(Did not have a pet with me)
Our Joy of Life welcome gift was waiting for us(Hurrah) (With extra lavender which I quickly tossed out of the room)
Would I stay there again?
Maybe.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carpentermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Stayed here as part of our Calfornian road trip for our honeymoon. I was really looking forward to reaching San Francisco and excited at the thought of staying at the Vitale having read reviews on this site. What a disappointment! This hotel is a business hotel and nothing more. The staff are really impersonal and we felt as though we were in the way of the more important business guests.
Car parking was a complete rip-off at $45 per night, couldn't quite belive it when we arrived and was by far the most expensive of all the various Californian hotels we stayed at.

The only plus point in it's favour was the location. It was great to walk along the front to the piers and has great views of Bay bridge. It's about a 15 minute walk to Union square and all the shops.

I never ate at the hotel because we didn't want to give them any more money but there are plenty of decent restaurants in the vicinity, so you don't have to spend time in the hotel bar that is dominated by the above mentioned business clients.

Above all very disappointed and don't be fooled by the hotel website...reality paints a very different picture.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdc08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, ca
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Only thing missing from the room was coffee. Complimentary coffee service is in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
441 reviews
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#51 of 229 in San Francisco
1,284 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Griffon
Hotel Griffon
#29 of 229 in San Francisco
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
1,285 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#11 of 229 in San Francisco
1,368 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Prestigia, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing