We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent service, location and very accommodating with my young kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #22 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent service, location and very accommodating with my young kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

We were originally booked in a room with one bed. I called their reservations department and explained I was travelling with 4 year old twins. The agent owned the situation and immediately upgraded me to a suite with curtains to seperate the sleeping areas.

This is a semi-typical boutique, city, hip hotel. Not the place you would expect the staff to want to deal with 4 year old twins. Everyone there could not have been better.

Arrival was good, door staff and front desk were very friendly and accommodating. Room was great. Room service was good throughout our stay. I requested my coffee and breakfast at 5:45 am each day (an hour before listed times) and they had no problem filling that request.

They have seating and lounge type areas on all the roofs and they are spectacular. The furniture is showing some signs of fatigue but the setting and views make up for that.

Good location in SF for kids as well. The trolley loops all start directly behind the hotel. You can take the trolley to the Wharf or up California and connect with North Beach, etc...very convenient.

Parking is a block or two away but that is expected with the location. Overall, fantastic place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plummerchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    381
    114
    43
    34
See reviews for
172
589
89
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Good location near the Ferry Port building and 5 minutes walk from one of the main tram lines. It's a comfortable and stylish hotel with generally very friendly staff. The room was spacious and comfortable and we had a great view of the Bay Bridge (although if you get a view you also get quite a lot of noise drifting up from the bar which opens out to a paved area).

There were a couple of minor down points. We had to ask for a coffee machine. I object to paying that much for a room and not being provided with an occasional free cup of coffee in my room. To be fair they placed a coffee machine in the room straight away but we had to ask for it to be replenished.

Valet parking was quite pricey (and they tried to charge for 5 nights instead of one so check your bill when you check out).

The other downside was the poor restaurant food. The Americano bar and restaurant is very stylish and obviously a cool place to hang out, but the food we had was distinctly average and the service was a bit unfriendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonneil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

Was there to see a Giants game at AT&T park. Arrived early and they honored our package, which included valet parking, even before we got the room. This is a very modern hotel with modern decor. Staff is very friendly and helpful with everything. The location is superb with easy walking distance to everything on the Embarcadaro. (Ferry Bldg, ATT Park, etc).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DH1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

To provide a little background - I live in the San Francisco Bay Area and work four blocks from this hotel. It would be fair to say I know the area very well.

I stayed at the Vitale a couple of times three years ago, once in an "inner courtyard" room (not so great) and once in a Superior King room overlooking the Embarcadero and bay (very nice). Happened to hit on an unbelieveable rate one day for the Panoramic Suite - nearly 40% off. The Panoramic Suite I would call "the round room". These rooms are on the corner of the hotel overlooking Embarcadero and the Bay Bridge, with the infamous bathtub in the bedroom itself.

First off, I don't know how you can beat this location while visiting San Francisco unless you are big into shopping and the theater, in which case a room in the Union Square area would be better. The Vitale is right on Embarcadero, and about 1/4 of a block from the Ferry Building which is sort of our local temple of foodie worship. On Saturdays there is a large Farmer's Market as well. A room on the "water" side of the hotel makes for some pretty great people watching up and down Embarcadero. No television required.

First the good - the room is large, spacious, with very tall ceilings and beautiful picture windows. One would not feel cramped here even after a four or five day stay. The bed is soft and very comfortable - linens luscious. The bathtub in the room, while a very simple tub without the fancy jets etc., is to DIE FOR. I walk by the Vitale all the time and wondered about the privacy issue and when you're up in the room looking out you realize .... no one's looking up from the street! No one cares - they are busy admiring the view of the bay. Once I got in the tub, I followed suit.

As noted here in other reviews, shower in the bath is an overhead rainfall type with simple and clean partial glass enclosure. Very classy.

Room service - blindingly fast. Breakfast arrived in under 15 minutes.

Now the negatives. The noise from the street is pretty intense. Unless you're from NYC or live in the city, this might get to you after a while. This is NOT a quiet and peaceful location. Expect bus and intersection noise to be a factor as early as 6:00 a.m. There was no in room coffee, and I had to call room service for two wine glasses. The toilet was one of the water saver models and simply didn't work.

I would stay at the Vitale again but next time would opt for a city view room or there's a side of the hotel that overlooks a small park. The Panoramic Suite is very pretty and almost warrants a room rate most of us think twice about.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlondeandBlue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

We stayed here for 2 weeks and the service did not falter once. We upgraded our original internal view booking (made via Expedia) for a water view and enjoyed fantastic views of the Bay Bridge, Ferry Building and Treasure Island.

The room was very clean and spacious, the bathroom had a large "rain" shower and the bed linens, especially the pillows were devine.

The staff were were nice and cheerful, the restaurant was also pretty good - it took advantage of the two Farmer's Market days over the road at the ferry building (Tuesdays and Saturday's) extending a special dish on those evenings. The bar seemed to be the place to go throughout the week so it could get noisy (Saturday and Sunday were much quieter) but the double glazed windows in the room blocked out most of the noise so we didn't find it a problem.

If you don't have a room with a view you can easily get up to the hotel rooftop, to admire the sunrise and sunsets or even take a picnic.

The hotel has a free yoga class in the morning and a small gym but guests also enjoy free access to the YMCA just a 2 minute walk away.

Rooms had free internet provision (wireless and cable), a safe, minibar and very nice toiletries. Possibly the only thing to be aware of is that there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room (I had a travel kettle with me so it wasn't a problem).

I think it would be hard to beat this hotel. I'm giving it 10 out of 10 !

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mooseloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

This place is expensive, but awesome. Our room had a view of the bay, & the ferry building. The modern decor looked like something out of a magazine. If I had enough money I would stay here every time I am in the city.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

The boyfriend and I stayed here for one night on Vday weekend. When booking through their website, I got the Deluxe Waterfront King with the romance package which includes champagne on arrival and rose petal turndown service. The lobby is decorated beautifully and had a peaceful, serene feel to it. The people working at the concierge were also great and was able to get me a room on the 8th floor (highest floor).

The room had an awesome view of the Bay Bridge and the water. Also cant complain about the rainforest shower and Fresh products, loooved the Lemon scented lotion and took all of them home. :) Location was great as well since it is right across the Ferry Building. The bf and I also got a couples massage which was only ok for me.

Ok, here are my complaints. Since it was a busy Vday weekend, the service was only ok. The champagne was not in my room when we arrived like it was supposed to as described on their website. I had to call housekeeping about it which pretty much ruined the surprise I planned for my BF. When checking out thru their in-room checkout service, there were so many people trying to do the same thing at the same time that the service was overloaded. When I went downstairs to checkout, there was a long line which made a 10 minute task into a 30 minute process.

Overall, I really liked the hotel and had a great weekend getaway. Would definitely come back, maybe on a less busy weekend.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickie116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#55 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Griffon
Hotel Griffon
#29 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#59 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,541 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing