We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Location, Great Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2 Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #22 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here for the weekend with my husband. Great location with fantastic views of the Bay Bridge and Ferry Building. We did not opt to pay for a room with a view, but did enjoy the views from the rooftop terraces on the 5th and 8th floors a couple of different times. Nice to be able to take a glass of wine up to enjoy the rooms (though there is no food/beverage service on the terraces). Every staff member we encountered over the two days was friendly and helpful. We especially appreciated all the help we received from Steve, the concierge, in regards to dinner recommendations and reservations. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel for breakfast and thought it was good.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are on a busy street so may be loud. Our room was an interior facing room, so had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaCindyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear CaliforniaCindyE:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience—it is wonderful to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your “staycation” with us. Our terraces are a wonderful way to enjoy the view and fresh air without even having to leave the hotel. I will gladly pass along your kind words to Steve and the rest of the team so they will know how appreciated they are!

Sincerely,
Antoine Berberi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    370
    106
    41
    33
See reviews for
161
570
86
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Close to our corporate headquarters this hotel was suggested by our travel department. I used to stay at some of the larger chains which are a bit further away so I decided to try this hotel and I am very glad I did. This is a very clean, modern hotel with helpful staff and a convenient location. The bar is big and can be crowded with a mostly professional crowd. Waitress service can be slow so unless you sit at the bar expect it to take a while to get a drink. Food is good but not spectacular, certainly acceptable for a quick breakfast or lunch.

A few of my favorite restaurants are within a stone's throw from this place as is at least 3 Starbucks so for business travel it is ideal for me. For leisure travel I wouldn't hesitate to take my wife here but I'm not sure this is the best choice for a large family (although I have not tried this.)

Room Tip: If you are new to the city or in SF for leisure, ask for a bridge view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PermaJetLag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear PermaJetLag:

I’m glad to hear that we are in a convenient location for your business needs as well as your favorite restaurants! We would be happy to welcome you and your wife next time you are in town for a getaway—a trip to Spa Vitale definitely helps to get into vacation mode. See you both soon!

Sincerely,
Antoine Berberi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed 4 nights in June.
Excellent side room on the 5th floor with great view of Bay Bridge.
Very comfortable bed.
On the edge of financial district and opposite Ferry Building this hotel is in a great position for a stay in San Francisco.
Particular thanks to the concierge,Steve, who gave us very helpful advice regarding restaurants, transport,places to visit etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Geoff033:

I am delighted to hear that your Hotel Vitale experience was altogether excellent. The views of the bay are quite popular year round, and our beds are not only comfortable, they are famous—take a look at the ceiling in Americano next time you visit to see them featured in “The Dreamers” series. I will be sure to let Steve know that his suggestions improved your trip, it is always wonderful to know when your work is appreciated. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are visiting California.

Sincerely,
Antoine Berberi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Lovely staff. Great location, right across from the Ferry Building. Beautiful room overlooking the bridge. Very nice terraces on 5th and 7th floors (sometimes reserved for private events.)
Lively cafe for afternoon tea (or happy hour... more frequently, so it seemed.)

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor to avoid the noise from the bar. The bridge view room had a lovely view. Ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyLipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear AmyLipton:

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that your Hotel Vitale experience was altogether lovely. With the Ferry Building, terraces, and an Americano visit, it sounds like the only thing you weren’t able to experience was Spa Vitale! Well, I hope we can entice you with a lovely massage and Bathing Ritual next time you are here—looking forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Antoine Berberi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed here as part of our West coast trip down from British Columbia

We had booked a room through our agents, which should have been 'superior with water view'

What we got was a room on the second floor (our first floor) overlooking The Embacadero with a shot of water view between the buildings opposite, and the hotel patio which was extended onto the pavement. There was a function on the patio each night, right outside our window, culminating in a disco on the last night, which really intruded on our privacy as you could not keep curtains open otherwise guests on the patio could see right in!

Our deluxe room was actually a room for a disabled person, with disabled access facilities in the bathroom which was larger than normal, and two Queen size beds in the sleeping area. When we enquired as to why we had a disabled access room we were told that was because we wanted a water view (there were at least four more floors above ours so I'm not sure why we had the one we did. I don't know what a standard room looked like.

The decor in the hotel was drab and dreary, not at all welcoming, with a large unfriendly grille separating the lounge area and restaurant from the large empty reception area. The hotel is part of the Joie de Vivre group, but this particular hotel seemed to have missed out!

On the plus side the staff were very helpful. When we arrived early they made sure we could book in with minimum delay. It had been my birthday a few days earlier and we had a bottle of bubbly and some wine delivered to our room, which was very welcome. The concierge, Keith, was also very helpful answering our numerous queries and when we commented on the noise and disturbance in our room, our in-house dining bill was waived.

All in all, I'm sure there are far worse hotels in San Francisco but if you do stay here - the location is about 15 minutes walk from Union Square and right opposite the refurbished Ferry House, with lots going on (good breakfast at The Market Place, which had much more atmosphere than the hotel restaurant - make sure you have a room at least on the third floor or above

Room Tip: If you want a water view, with some privacy ask for a room on third floor or above. Remember these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackiR143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear JackiR143:

I am sorry to hear that your room was not as you had expected—if you would like to contact myself or our reservations department directly, we will be happy to indicate your preference for a quiet, non-accessible room on your profile. Our hotel design incorporates the calming tones and textures of nature, which is intended to be relaxing and rejuvenating for our guests. If that is not the atmosphere you felt, I will make a note to review our décor the next time we have an opportunity for a refresh. I am so glad to hear that you were able to connect with our front desk and concierge teams—they always have such wonderful and personalized recommendations for our guests. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon for a nice quiet stay.

Sincerely,
Antoine Berberi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
245 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I last stayed 7 years ago and didn't love the Vitale. This time I really enjoyed it. The rooms are good size with comfy beds. The bathroom is modern with good products. The location continues to be great. The only down fall was the women at the front desk. On 2 separate occasions I asked simple questions and was given slight attitude. If I knew the answer I wouldn't have asked almost came out of my mouth..... All other staff were great and helpful

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livinginlondon1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear livinginlondon1344:
First of all, thank you for staying with us again, seven years ago we were still quite new, so it is good to hear that we have improved! It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your room—there’s nothing like a comfy bed to recover from jet lag in after such a long trip. Alternatively, I am disappointed to hear that your front desk interactions were not up to our standard of service—we will be sure to review our standards with the team. We hope to see you again soon—hopefully in less than seven years!

Sincerely,
Antoine Berberi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stortford UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in November 2013 for Business. Great smooth check in and excellent view of the Bay Bridge.

Room was spacious and clean with a lovely big bathroom and I had a view of one of the side buildings and street which was fine. Good location easy to walk to the ferry building and only a 20 minute walk down to Fisherman's Wharf.

Staff really friendly and enjoyed a light bar snack in the bar which was great. Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemmaharroduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear gemmaharroduk:
I am so glad that your stay with us last year was excellent. We do have a great deal of business travelers because we are in the Financial District and so close to many corporate offices. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope you will get a chance to stay with us for leisure next time.

Sincerely,
Antoine Berberi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#52 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,082 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#62 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,346 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Griffon
Hotel Griffon
#19 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#20 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing