We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just loved to be there!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #40 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Great location, right next to Embarcadero, right across the piers. Overlooking the water and Bay bridge.
Highly quality conscious hotel, evident from Bose wave 3 audio systems in the room. Professional and friendly staff.
Americano restaurant served great food and drinks, though I felt the restaurant staff needs to have some smile on their faces they looked stressed.
Room size and decor are pretty good, the wifi is also decent.
Additionally free yoga classes and free entry to YMCA for swimming in lap sized heated pool is welcome.
On a different note the room tariff is quite high, also note they charge additional $60-70 for car parking each day.
But overall it is worth the experience.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Naresh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Naresh T:
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and our convenient waterfront location. The bay is such a calming view and a favorite among our guests. Our restaurant is always delicious and happy hour out on the patio is quite popular—even during this time of year thanks to of our tent. The morning yoga classes are a great way to start your day energized. We look forward to seeing you again next time business brings you to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
David Lemmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,664)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

825 - 831 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Spectacular views and modern luxury in a perfect downtown location. You won't need a car to explore the Waterfront, Fisherman's Wharf or Cable Cars--just walk out the front door. Try a massage at the spa and for the best views splurge on a suite with a tub overlooking the Bay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank writeholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear writeholt:
In San Francisco you rarely need a car unless you are leaving the city—there are just so many convenient public transportation options. Spa Vitale has many splendid massage therapists; if you enjoyed your massage as well as your in-room soaking tub overlooking the bay, the Bathing Ritual in our rooftop garden should be on your list for next time you visit.

Sincerely,
David Lemmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I had travelled up the cost from L.A and our last stop was in San Fran at this lovely hotel. Out of all the places we stayed in during that vacation, the Hotel Vitale takes the cake.

Not only is the hotel along with its rooms beautiful, but the customer service is top notch. We felt so great staying at this hotel due to the amazing people that worked there. Even though we were not in our home city, we felt like we saw the best of the downtown area and ate at great places due to the wonderful staff and their recommendations.

The next time we are in San Fran we will be coming back to this hotel 100%

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarisaWorldTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Marisa S:
The drive up the coast on Highway One is a beautiful trip, thank you for making us the grand finale. I am so pleased to hear that the Vitale team made you feel at home during your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Francisco!

Sincerely,
David Lemmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have stayed at the Hotel Vitale several times now and loved it each time. Staff are very friendly and knowlegable. Bartenders are great. Ate breakfast there and was surprised at how good it was -- not just typical hotel restaurant food. Would highly recommend it. Only downside: parking. Valet is $50 but you can find garages not too far away, but those aren't cheap either. Not the fault of the hotel, really, just a reality of staying in SF.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the water are quite large and the view of the Ferry Building and Bay Bridge are e...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank San M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear San M:
Thank you for your review and for being such a loyal guest; I am happy to pass along your sentiments to the rest of the team. Americano breakfast is just as amazing as dinner—the banana pancakes with pecan butter are a seasonal favorite. I am glad you enjoyed a waterfront room, they have the most sought after view—you would have to be on a boat to get a closer look at the bay! We look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Sincerely,
David Lemmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very nice, modern hotel. Not a bargain, but it's an expensive city.

Cool bar in the lobby and a location within a stones throw of the Ferry building. 10-15 minute walk to AT&T Park.

A solid alternative to the madness of Union Square and located directly across from the Embarcadero. Easy cruise over to the ferry Building for nifty markets, shops, and restaurants.

I recommend this hotel to friends coming into town if it's in their budget.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have either close or direct access to some cool patios.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Rob J:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences—I always love to hear when guests enjoyed their stay enough to recommend us. The Ferry Building has something for everyone and the walk to AT&T Park along the Embarcadero is lovely. If you’re in a hurry, but still want to enjoy the fresh air, there are usually plenty of pedicabs available to take you to the ballpark. I think the waterfront area is much quieter compared to the bustle of Union Square—but still close enough to be convenient for any downtown destinations. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you (or your friends!) again soon.

Sincerely,
David Lemmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My partner's company booked this place for their holiday party. Yep, it must have been a good year! The location is wonderful... Right by the Embarcadero. We had breakfast both mornings at the Ferry Building and enjoyed the Farmers Market on Saturday. We shopped Union Square, and we took the muni line up Market to Castro one night-- easy-schmeazy. Our room even had a fair view of the Bay Bridge.

Parking is super expensive--$50/night for valet. Use one of the nearby lots for $30 per night or, if possible, use public transit or über. You don't need your car once you're in the city.

The hotel and rooms are clean and contemporary, but nothing fancy. Joie de Vivre's model, I think, is to take old properties, slap on a coat of paint, provide decent customer service, and start counting the cash as it rolls in. The room was over $300/night. I suppose that's typical for SF, but if you're just looking for a bed and location, you can surely beat the price.

Apart from the price, the only negative was a loose faucet. I'm surprised they didn't catch this. Oh, and no coffee in the room. The coffee bar in the lobby shuts down mid-morning and didn't offed decaf. C'mon!?

In sum-- convenient Embarcardero location, ordinary but clean rooms, and expensive.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mike95128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Mike95128:
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Even for a Bay Area local such as yourself, it is nice to just take some time to enjoy San Francisco during the holidays. I absolutely agree that cars are rarely necessary to get around once you’re in the city and our location is both walkable and convenient for public transportation. That being said, space is at a premium in the city, and I think you will find our valet parking price comparable to other downtown hotels.

Since Joie de Vivre built our property in 2005, the guiding principle has been “Luxury, Naturally”. Our hotel’s aesthetic was designed to compliment the natural beauty of the bay that surrounds our city. I am sorry to hear that your faucet was loose—if you ever have any room issues please let the front desk know so they can send someone up to fix it right away! I appreciate your comments regarding decaf coffee in the lobby. In order to ensure freshness, the restaurant makes it to order. I will speak with our front desk team about making that fact clearer in order to eliminate any confusion for our guests in the future.

Sincerely,
David Lemmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel is a special treat for anyone lucky enough to stay here. The rooms a beautifully appointed an a more modern theme. Comfortable bedding, great location and some of the most friendly and helpful staff. It is located a two minute walk from the Ferry Building. Valet parking is the standard $50/night. The Americano restaurant is delicious even though we only had breakfast there. Fresh, local and well prepared dishes. Thanks to Chris our waitperson who took such good care of us. Book well in advance as this hotel fills up quickly. It is also minutes from AT & T park and many great restaurants within walking distance. We have officially named this our favorite hotel in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room on a higher floor
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjohnrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear drjohnrx:
Thank you, it is such an honor to be named your Favorite San Francisco Hotel—it’s these personal sentiments from our guests that truly make a difference in what we do. Being right across from the Ferry Building is great for us as well as our guests because we source many of our fresh restaurant ingredients from Ferry Building vendors. Also, if you enjoyed Americano for breakfast, you should visit Spa Vitale for a Bathing Ritual or Warm Bamboo Renewal on your next visit to round out your experience. Thanks again for such warm sentiments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
David Lemmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
494 reviews
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#53 of 229 in San Francisco
1,318 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hote...
#27 of 229 in San Francisco
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,314 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#10 of 229 in San Francisco
1,392 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $312 - $941 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing