We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embarcadero Area Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #49 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great views from the room. The Oakland Bay Bridge is gorgeous at night. Location is right in the Embarcadero area, close walk to the Ferry Building.

No coffee or tea of any kind in room. No ice machines, you must call the front desk. Very fast elevators. This is a hotel that tries to make money by selling you snacks and drinks in your room. Wished they used the space for a coffee maker instead.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 0TravelTime0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

0TravelTime0:
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the nighttime views of the bridge—the Bay Lights is the largest LED light sculpture in the world and we are so fortunate to be able to share it with our guests every evening. In addition to coffee and tea service in the lobby, we do have coffee makers and electric tea kettles available to guests, on your next stay just request one at the front desk. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
David Lemmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

970 - 976 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Vitale on the recommendation of a friend. It far exceeded our expectations and is truly a luxury hotel in San Francisco.

We had one of the circular suites over looking the ferry building and the Bay Bridge with its new light display.

The roof top is very nice in the evening to enjoy a glass of wine and see the lights.

Its close proximity to all the sights is great. Take a cable car ride up California and then walk around the shops of Union Square as you make your way back the hotel.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Arnixon:
Friends do seem to be one of the most reliable forms of recommendation out there and how nice to hear that yours are suggesting us! The circular suites are our most sought after rooms at Hotel Vitale, and rightly so—that soaking tub with a view of the bay is heavenly. It is great to hear that your time with us surpassed your expectations and we can’t wait to welcome you back on your next stay!

Sincerely,
David Lemmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very solid performing hotel. Service was very good, rooms very well maintained, staff very helpful and restaurant really good with nice outside street seating. Location is excellent with good restaurant nearby. Close to shops and attractions including the Ferry Building and Market Street.
Great access via car to the airport and you are close to the BART. Would recommend this and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a high elevation room off the street level to reduce noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingBrit007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

RoamingBrit007:
I am glad that your experience with us was all around excellent; it is always gratifying to be able to pass along such kind words to the rest of the team. We are so very fortunate to be in a location that is convenient for all modes of transportation—including ferry and bike taxi! We appreciate your recommendation—guests really are the best form of advertising—and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
David Lemmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Vitale for 7 days during my business trip, it was overall very good. Comfortable and clean rooms, very nice view from my room, good restaurant. It was in an excellent location, facing the Bay Bridge and Ferry Building.Walking distance to many touristic attractions, helpful and attentive staff.
On the other hand it is very expensive, when you pay that amount of money you would find this service level and more. They charge you every single thing, they do not even have welcome drinks, a basic coffee at room, not even water. I found the gym very small and dark. And the most annoying thing was the WiFi, you have to log-in again and again, each and every time. Very low connectivity, poor service. Oh by the way check your bill when checking out, mine was charged with things that I didn't have like vodka etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSS_Willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Karakalem:
It is wonderful to hear that your week with us was pleasant overall—our rooms are designed to be soothing and comfortable for our guests. Alternatively, I am sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay did not live up to your expectations. We appreciate your comments; it is through this direct form of guest feedback that we are able to continuously improve. We do have coffee and tea available in the lobby daily as well as complimentary water and chocolates with turn town service. Also, if you ever feel your bill is incorrect; please contact us directly to help sort it out. We hope you will think of us again next time you are in the States.

Sincerely,
David Lemmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. I particularly enjoyed the decor. It was a nice mix of clean modern but softened by nature themes. Our room had a wonderful view of the bay bridge. It was perfect access to the ferry building and all the food shops there as well as buses into the shopping districts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay bridge if thats what you are after
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpletreegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

purpletreegirl:
I am so glad that you enjoyed Hotel Vitale’s atmosphere of “Luxury, Naturally”. It creates a soothing environment for our guests to relax. The bridge views are even beautiful at night with- The Bay Lights art installation—the pattern of lights doesn’t repeat, so you will never see the same show twice! We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back next time you are visiting the Bay Area.

Sincerely,
David Lemmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I reserved at Hotel Vitale strictly due to proximity to a business meeting, and was blown away with the beauty, peacefulness and comfort of the hotel. I only wish my stay had been longer to enjoy the amenities such as spa and dining. I did have room service which was NOT your standard hotel in-room menu and was delicious. There was a business center on the same floor as my room, for easy printing of boarding passes. LOVE this hotel and can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodwinethee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

foodwinethee:
I am so pleased to hear that your stay with us was relaxing despite it being for business. Although you didn’t get the chance to visit the dining room, our room service is provided by Americano as well, so you did sample the cuisine. Hopefully your next stay with us will be for leisure so you will have time to dine and stop by Spa Vitale for a Bathing Ritual or a Warm Bamboo Renewal. We look forward to seeing you then.

Warm regards,
David Lemmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed at his hotel because my other choices were not available, so i did not particularly research it beforehand, and booked on hotwire. The room was spacious enough, the mattress is comfortable, and the decor was soothing but not particularly original (the typical modern boutique hotel design). Overall it felt rather ordinary. For this sort of price (i paid 500$/night!) i would expect at least a small coffee-maker and a fridge in the room if not other "perks" but nothing.. no coffee offered anywhere except the restaurant. The gym is rather small and stuffy. The location is of course great, and the concierge, receptionists were all very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emzda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Emzda:
It is great to hear that your room was comfortable and that our team was accommodating. I am sorry that the décor did not meet your expectations—our aesthetic is minimal in order to create a relaxing environment of “Luxury, naturally”. Just so you are aware for next time, we do have coffee and tea available in the lobby and you are always welcome to request a coffee maker be put in your room. Please contact me directly next time you are visiting San Francisco—we would love another chance!

Sincerely,
David Lemmond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hote...
#21 of 231 in San Francisco
879 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 231 in San Francisco
562 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 231 in San Francisco
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#50 of 231 in San Francisco
4,748 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $278 - $776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelPower, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing