We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for SF standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #40 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here earlier this year for two nights to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday.

We had a waterfront view room, which was gorgeous. The staff was great, and even had a birthday bottle of wine and a card waiting for us when we arrived. The room was kind of small, but the bed was comfortable and all decor looked pretty new. The front desk staff was ok (a little snooty), but the bellmen/valet were always very kind. We ran into the same bellman each day and he was on top of everything!

My only complaint (and also a complaint of our friends that stayed the same weekend), if you try to shower during normal shower hours (ie. in the morning or before dinner time), the water is luke-warm at best. I know SF is a environmentally concerned city, but come on - for the amount we paid for the room, I would at least expect 10 minutes of hot water.

All in all, this is definitely at the higher end of what you would find in SF.

Room Tip: Waterfront room is beautiful.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KB1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

KSarg:

What a wonderful way to celebrate, I do hope that you accompanied your stay with a birthday dinner at Americano, our Chocolate Budino is a delicious birthday treat. My apologies for your trouble with the hot water—if something like this ever happens please let our team at the front desk know so that we may remedy the situation for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Melony Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,665)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

962 - 968 of 1,665 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

From the moment we checked into the Hotel Vitale, we felt like pampered VIPs. The hotel is beautifully situated overlooking the Embarcadero and the historic Ferry Building. Upon arrival, we were greeted by friendly and professional staff who offered us a warm towel, infused with rosemary- a welcome surprise after a long flight. We were promptly shown to our room. The guest suites are beautifully appointed with organic materials that give every room a Zen like elegance. Rustic woods, muted colors and rich linens create a serene retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city below. Before heading out to dinner, we stopped into the hotel bar for a cocktail. Far from your typical sleepy hotel hangout, this was a chic, energetic meeting hangout for SF's young executives. I highly recommend the Hotel Vitale and look forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Ferry Building/Embarcadero.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathaeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hotel Vitale has one of the best locations in town with bay bridge view. It is located right across the Ferry building and proximate to many top restaurants. Very easy and safe for those who like to run by the water (from Ferry building to bottom of GG bridge and back is 10 miles). The room is spacious and is consistently maintained so it feels fresh and clean. The decor is modern. Waterfront view is a plus.

The hotel seems to cater towards vacationers and pay less attention to frequent business visitors. If I compare Vitale to other hotels I stayed when vacationing, then I would say Hotel Vitale met high marks. However, it's attention towards frequent travelers still has a lot of room for improvement. For example, the joy program advertises upgrade based on availability, but of course it never offered to me without asking sadly the answer was always no. The front desk staff can be more friendly and helpful. May be it is too much for them to remember names and preference (even it is on the profile!), but they just seems to go through the motion to check guests in and out. In contrast, all other staff in the hotel was amazing! The valet/bell team has super memory (names, time needed a car, etc.) and are always so ready to help. Last time the valet staff set the cab driver straight when he refused to take me to a nearby location (he was expecting airport). I very much appreciated the help.

Room Tip: second floor is noisy so avoid it if possible.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelerBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have stayed in many hotels in San Francisco but Hotel Vitale surpassed any of the other places we have stayed. The relaxed and sophisticated ambiance, and especially the excellent quality of service, made a big impression on us. Our room (an interior room) was very quiet and peaceful, and the hotel is a short walk from the Ferry Building and many shops/restaurants nearby. We were thoroughly impressed and enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: If you'd like a quiet room without traffic noise, request an interior room. Our room had a windo...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hotel Vitale has a beautiful view of the bay. The concierge was always helpful answering all my questions and the room was wonderful. The only complaints I have is that I was charged for using the business ctr for less than 5 mins and I was charged for a service I cancelled. Otherwise, it is a beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: You should request a view of the harbour/bay bridge, it's a beautiful view! Any other side is ju...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starry_123z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Hotel Vitale came highly recommended to us and we loved everything about our stay. The location is wonderful and within easy walking distance to the waterfront, good restaurants, cable cars and shopping. The rooms are beautifully decorated with very comfortable beds, good views, very clean and obviously well cared for with great attention to detail. The hotel has a quiet, relaxing feel and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Everything as expected of a 4 star hotel. Best things is the location, its close proximity to excellent restaurants, public transportation and not a mention the view of the bay bridge. I got what I paid for in the heart of SF bay area. Make sure you get a room with a view of sea and/or bridge. The other side has only commercial buildings. The hotel has terrace, spa, gym and restaurant. This is not a B&B so no microwave in the room. I recommend for anyone who would like to stay in the heart of downtown. Excellent quality of toilet and bathroom supplies. Make a point to go to the terrace for a nice view of the bay area and the bay bridge. Dull decor and lighting in the welcome area, which least matters with your stay. The ferry building is right across the street. Embarcadero is on the shoreline!
After you are tired traveling throughout the busy crowded day in SF ones feel relieved when you know that you do not have walk any extra as the public transportation stop is right at the corner, 59sec walk!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the embarcadero side with a view of sea and bridge.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay_as_tripvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
1,320 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hote...
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#5 of 230 in San Francisco
1,315 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
1,397 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#22 of 230 in San Francisco
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $312 - $943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Prestigia, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing