We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, location, service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #40 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have stayed in many hotels in San Francisco but Hotel Vitale surpassed any of the other places we have stayed. The relaxed and sophisticated ambiance, and especially the excellent quality of service, made a big impression on us. Our room (an interior room) was very quiet and peaceful, and the hotel is a short walk from the Ferry Building and many shops/restaurants nearby. We were thoroughly impressed and enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: If you'd like a quiet room without traffic noise, request an interior room. Our room had a windo...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,664)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

964 - 970 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hotel Vitale has a beautiful view of the bay. The concierge was always helpful answering all my questions and the room was wonderful. The only complaints I have is that I was charged for using the business ctr for less than 5 mins and I was charged for a service I cancelled. Otherwise, it is a beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: You should request a view of the harbour/bay bridge, it's a beautiful view! Any other side is ju...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starry_123z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Hotel Vitale came highly recommended to us and we loved everything about our stay. The location is wonderful and within easy walking distance to the waterfront, good restaurants, cable cars and shopping. The rooms are beautifully decorated with very comfortable beds, good views, very clean and obviously well cared for with great attention to detail. The hotel has a quiet, relaxing feel and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Everything as expected of a 4 star hotel. Best things is the location, its close proximity to excellent restaurants, public transportation and not a mention the view of the bay bridge. I got what I paid for in the heart of SF bay area. Make sure you get a room with a view of sea and/or bridge. The other side has only commercial buildings. The hotel has terrace, spa, gym and restaurant. This is not a B&B so no microwave in the room. I recommend for anyone who would like to stay in the heart of downtown. Excellent quality of toilet and bathroom supplies. Make a point to go to the terrace for a nice view of the bay area and the bay bridge. Dull decor and lighting in the welcome area, which least matters with your stay. The ferry building is right across the street. Embarcadero is on the shoreline!
After you are tired traveling throughout the busy crowded day in SF ones feel relieved when you know that you do not have walk any extra as the public transportation stop is right at the corner, 59sec walk!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the embarcadero side with a view of sea and bridge.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay_as_tripvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We upgraded from a Deluxe Waterfront to Circular Panorama. What a fabulous room with 180 degree view of the bay.

Service was excellent in all aspects. I can say that my wife and I travel frequently for pleasure and both agree that Vitale was (as I said), Outstanding!

Room Tip: It is an upgrade, but the Circular Panorama was worth more than what we paid.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I didn't love this place the first time I stayed there - but the trick is to get a king room on a high floor. Lovely, large room, good light, great service, relaxing atmosphere....I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you are traveling alone or as a couple king rooms have dramatically better layout than doubles. H...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I am a former Four Seasons Hotel employee and must say that The Hotel Vitale is right on up there! Non smoking building keeps it smelling fresh and clean. Easy SFO airport bart ride into the Embarcadero station with the hotel right around the corner. Excellent location. The staff exceeded our expectations. Room was fantastic with the deep soaking tube and great view of the city. Room service YUM! The brussel sprouts and artichoke dish! We indulged in several menu items and they were all delicious! The Ferry Building convenient across the street.. We had the gluten free organic curry potato empanadas with salad. The ahi fish tacos, organic vegan donuts OMG .. We brought a dozen home.

This is our new favorite hotel and will bring us back to SF in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noniesherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
494 reviews
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#53 of 229 in San Francisco
1,318 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hote...
#27 of 229 in San Francisco
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,314 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#10 of 229 in San Francisco
1,392 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $312 - $941 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing