We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #30 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend in San Francisco and totally enjoyed the hotel and the trip. The Bart stops at the Embarcadero and this stop is just around the corner. The cable car is a block away and the trolley is right outside.

One of the best things is the roof patios on floor 5 or 7! We took a bottle of wine upstairs and enjoyed the sunset.

All the people were very nice and we would definitely stay here on our next trip to San Francisco!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
JoAnn:
It is wonderful when guests are able to utilize our many public transportation options nearby. It is so much more convenient, especially if you are on a short visit, to not have to worry about a car. We always like to encourage our guests to take advantage of the sights from our very special terraces. The view of the Bay Bridge is breathtaking—especially at night. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    414
    124
    50
    41
See reviews for
203
632
95
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel was fabulous. Excellent service, great restaurant and beautiful room. The location was perfct, directly accross from the Ferry Building and around the corner from the F line bus. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: ask for the view of the bay, otherwise you may be looking at AC vents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Peggy1954:
I am so flattered that you thought of us for you “Girls Weekend” and happy to hear that you had a lovely time here. You simply must visit our spa on your next trip for “The San Francisco Treat”, a food and leg massage perfect for re-energizing after a long day of exploring or shopping in the city with the girls!

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great room, great service, nice location. Everything was perfect. The view is great. Near the market. My husband and I had a great time. The resto./ bar is very trendy and popular especially on Fridays nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Sophie G:
Thank you for your kind words, the team here at Vitale will be so glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable. If you liked Americano, you and your husband should be sure to try a side-by-side massage at the spa on your next visit to round out your Hotel Vitale experience.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Fell into the Hotel Vitale the first time driving from LA back home to Seattle. Having lived in SF I wanted to be close to downtown and the ferry building, and Hotel Vitale is perfect. Damn, what a great place. Second time, flew down from Seattle to reunite with old friends, even better, as I used their spa 3 times! (The best, I mean BEST hangover cure in the world is their bath ritual outdoors under the sky surrounded by bamboo, and then the "stressbuster" massage).

Anyway, the staff, the bar, the room, housekeeping; all superb. I've stayed around the world, from 5 star to no star and I want a Hotel Vitale everywhere I travel from now on.

Keep up the great work all, I'm a keeper.

MKMonroe
Mercer Island, WA

Room Tip: Stayed in an inside room the first time, it was great. I stayed in a water view room the second tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Mark M:
It is always especially flattering when a former Bay Area native chooses to stay with us and we enjoy being in such a prime location across the street from the Ferry Building. I am glad to hear that Spa Vitale exceeded your expectations and you should be sure to try our Warm Bamboo Renewal on your next visit. While I unfortunately cannot promise you a Hotel Vitale wherever you go, I do suggest looking into some of our other JDV Collection properties as well. In fact, we recently added the Coconut Waikiki Hotel in Honolulu to our growing collection of boutique hotels.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had our wedding and the reception at the hotel Vitale on the rooftop veranda with gorgeous bay and city view. We also spent four nights at this upscale boutique hotel located downtown San Francisco.

Service was exceptional and my husband and I were treated with special care as newlyweds. Our room had breathtaking bay view and we took lots of pictures of unforgettable sweet memories.

Food was exceptional with upscale presentation.

Would recommend this hotel to travelers and guests who appreciate unique upscale boutique style and downtown location. Would love to celebrate our one year anniversary at Vitale next year! It’s our special place! 

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Katarina H:
Congratulations and thank you for making us a part of such a meaningful event! I am glad to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations on your special day, our terraces are very unique and do have exceptional views. We look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary next year.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Nice rooms - great view of the Ferry Building. They also have a good breakfast in the Americano. We were in a corner room and it added to the views. The location is great. We were easily able to walk all around town. Since we live in the bay area, we took Bart in and it is an easy walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
DrFritz:
It is wonderful to that you enjoyed the corner room with a view of the Ferry Building and I certainly hope that you were able explore all of its shops and restaurants as well, as many of the ingredients that we use at Americano come from their vendors. It is great that you were able to take public transportation as it is so convenient in San Francisco—the Embarcadero BART/Muni station is a two minute walk from Hotel Vitale. We appreciate bay area native visitors as well as travelers from afar and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next local getaway.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great hotel. We stayed in a room with a Bay view on America's Cup weekend. Hotel has two good decks on 5th and 7th floors with spectacular views. Good location across the street fom Boulevard and near Ferry Building. Rooms are comfortable and reasonably large.

Room Tip: Water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Bart W:
We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at Hotel Vitale and took advantage our terraces—the views are great for watching boats on the bay. If you enjoyed Boulevard and the Ferry Building, be sure to try Americano on your next visit. Chef Kory updates the menu regularly with organic ingredients fresh from the Ferry building across the street. One of our latest seasonal additions is spaghetti with Half Moon Bay Dungeness crab, jalapeno, and lime.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#51 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Griffon
Hotel Griffon
#27 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#56 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,129 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,916 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing