We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location with great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #37 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location with great service.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Spent 5 days here and when you've got a view of the port of San Francisco, you're on to a winner. The bar was full most nights with "beautiful people" so I presume it must be one of the more fashionable places to hangout. The mini bar came with a cannister of air (so Californian). Pricey but enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudiop73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Claudiop73:
I am pleased to hear that you were able to spend so much time with us and enjoy both Hotel Vitale and Americano Restaurant. The canister of oxygen is one of our unique amenities for guests to recover from jetlag or reenergize before a meeting. We are grateful to have guests as loyal as yourself, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Francisco!


Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    450
    138
    63
    48
See reviews for
233
697
98
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great service throughout. Very helpful concierge. We had booked a Bay view room but were initially allocated a side room - this was quickly corrected as soon as we brought it to their attention but we were a bit disappouinted that they had failed to read what was on the booking form. The view from the 7th floor room out to the Bay bridge was definately worth the effort. Nice large clean room. Mini bar prices not quite as high as other places we have been but still pricey. The price of the valet parking here is outrageous but parking through out the city is expensive especially overnight 24hr rates so we still went for it. On site Americano restaurant was good. Hotel location generally excellent especially for Ferry Building bars etc. Shame the spa was not free for guests as it was too expensive to try.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_SurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Jeff_SurreyUK:
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the service from our concierge, we are so fortunate to work with such a wonderful team here at the Vitale. It is superb that you stayed in a waterfront room, watching boats going by in the bay is a great way to relax and enjoy the hotel. Our room service is also provided by Americano, so next time you can have the option enjoy the view from your room during your meal or join us in the dining room.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Like many travelers, we chose this hotel because of it's location, across from the ferry building with its amazing array of food and other treats. The hotel is pricey -- on par with the Four Seasons and other top hotels. We reserved a room with a water view, and were looking forward to a lovely weekend stay. When we arrived, the bellman showed us our room, which looked out on an industrial rooftop. The "water view" was visible when standing inches from the window, and peering west. We politely told the bellman that we were interested in exploring other room options, and we called the front desk. We were put on hold, and theyoung bellman stood in obvious irritation. The wait continued for several minutes (this turned out to be a persistent problem during our stay -- nearly impossible to reach the front desk). Finally the bellman said, "I have to go," and left us. At no point did he offer to assist. We felt foolish and abandoned -- not the way one wants to feel at the start of a stay at a luxury hotel. My husband went down to the front desk, and was able to secure a room with a real water view, at a higher price. The view was extraordinary, and the room was sweet, though one windowed wall looked out on a public terrace, meaning that we had to keep the blinds closed. The rest of our stay was uneventful. Staff was nice enough, but the overall feeling was not "great to have you here," but rather, "you are lucky to be here." The room service was excellent, and the valet went to great lengths to ensure that we made it to a dinner during a high-traffic time of day. But our short stay was marred by the unfortunate "first contact," and I'm not sure that I would return. Though the memory of the extraordinary view of San Francisco Bay and the Bay Bridge will long be in my memories.

Room Tip: Make sure that if you want a water view that you are clear on your expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VitaleSanFrancisco, Director of Rooms at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback!
We pride ourselves on providing warm and exemplary service to each and every one of our guest. We clearly missed the mark in this case. I apologize on behalf of my team for the service mishap.
It is through constructive criticism, such as this that you have provided, that enables us to improve upon our future guest’s experience. Thank you for providing this opportunity.

I was happy to hear that you so enjoyed or fantastic views of the San Francisco Bay and the Bay Bridge and I agree, the view is extraordinary!

Sincerely,

Dan Burgess
Director of Rooms
Hotel Vitale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hotel Vitale is a great hotel down on the Embarcadero area. Can't beat the location, can walk to the Ferry building and there are great places to eat and drink near by. Their bar is the hot spot on Thursday and Friday and if you want to avoid the crowds and hotels in Union square, this is the spot.

Room Tip: The beds are very comfortable and have turn down service. The rooms are not large, but if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Mike G:
It sounds as if you enjoyed exploring our surrounding neighborhood. It is fantastic that you were able to experience the Ferry Building—they have everything a foodie could wish for—as does Americano. It is not only a happening hotspot; our chef uses a quite a few items from the ferry building to create his menu. Be sure to check back as we update our menu regularly and are constantly creating new and seasonally inspired dishes—including one of our newest desserts: the Butternut Squash and Brown Butter Tart, a must try!

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is very near The Embarcadero and all the action on SF Bay, including the Ferry Building. I would have rated it "terrible" but for the location. The rooms are in need of updating -- dirty carpet, dirty tiles in bathroom, scuff marks and other stains on walls, etc. The hallways and lobby look dated and somewhat shabby. Windows don't open in guest rooms, leading to stuffy atmosphere. Rooms looking toward The Embarcadero are VERY noisy -- even through the sealed windows. For the prices they charge, you can do much better in other locations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJW200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
SJW200:
While I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, I am disappointed to hear the quality of your room did not live up to your expectations. We do have an ongoing preventative maintenance and carpet replacement program to address this matter. Your experience is important to us, and I thank you for bringing this to our attention. If your travels do bring you back to San Francisco, please contact me—we would love another chance.

My Sincerest Apologies,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great hotel with a convenient location in the financial district. Bed was so comfortable was amazing.
I loved the warm hand towel upon arrival also. The roof top lounge chairs are super comfortable and its nice to watch the bridge as the fog burns away. Also the ferry building is straight across the street.

Room Tip: Chose a room facing the bridge the view is amazing. I was in 532 and the view was directly across f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
megan s:
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our guest rooms; we do strive to create an experience that is both relaxing and revitalizing. Our rooftop terraces are wonderful for taking in the view—we also have infinity soaking tubs on our spa terrace that you should be sure to ask the concierge about for your next stay.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have stayed at the Vitale a number of times when returning to SF on business and although I keep on returning I can't quite work out why!?

The location is definitely the major plus...right opposite the Ferry Building and great for a walk along the Embarcadero after arriving off the plane.... $2 on the F Tram to Union Square or Fishermans Wharf. The views are also good if you get them with your room (but not so good I would pay more for). The staff are excellent and the welcome from the reception staff is always warm and genuine - in fact all the staff I have ever come into contact with have been good.

The rooms are OK for this level of hotel and price point - comfortable, good temperature, quiet, free internet, reasonable toiletries and comfortable beds. Some of my colleagues particularly like the muted and calming colours - fern greens, browns etc but I prefer a bit more vibrancy. Bathroom is OK but both the plug arrangements in the bath and basin would not hold water this time. Minor niggles are the small ironing board (OK, so at least there is one and the plus is an iron that doesn't deposit water on the garment when on steam) and a ton of junk on the desk which I clear away so I can work and which reappears every time the room is cleaned.

The restaurant is fine and if you want a change there are lots of good eating places nearby. I've never found the upstairs deck area some others have found, and it would be really nice to have a bar where guests can relax without having to compete with the local 'after work crowd'.

So I'll probably be back next time....the Vitale works but I just don't get the 'wow' that other reviewers clearly get.

Room Tip: Go for a bay view if you can get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skoyen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
skoyen89:
I am glad to hear that you received such excellent service, we are very proud of our team here at Hotel Vitale. It is also wonderful that you enjoyed our location; it is quite lovely to be able to go for a stroll along the waterfront, or explore the surrounding restaurants and shops. One of our guiding philosophies is “Luxury, Naturally” and our atmosphere and décor follows along those lines. My apologies that you experienced difficulties with the basin plug, in the future be sure to contact the front desk and will be more than happy to send someone to assist. Our rooftop terraces go from the fifth to the eighth floors and are accessible from the guest hallways. You are also welcome to order room service from Americano to the terraces and enjoy the view while you eat.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
476 reviews
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#53 of 229 in San Francisco
1,304 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hote...
#26 of 229 in San Francisco
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,214 reviews
SoMa
The St. Regis San Francisco
The St. Regis San Francisco
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,305 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#10 of 229 in San Francisco
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1227
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing