We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast with very efficient staff!”

Joanie's Happy Days Diner
Ranked #54 of 5,711 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great breakfast with very efficient staff!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Found this place on tripadvisor and glad we did! Food was very good, especially the banana nut waffle!!! Staff was cheerful, efficient, and quick to serve. Definitely recommend it even if you have a wait. Fresh fruit was wonderful too! Very child friendly also.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbags39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    200
    47
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great local place for breakfast - not to be missed”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

stayed nearby and tried several little places for breakfast. This was the best overall. Wonderful attentive service with awesome pancakes. Outdoor seating if interested. Small and perfect for the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guamgirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncy PA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderfuly fresh!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great fruit, fresh and fast food. Great service. We tried four different breakfast places and this one was 2nd to the best

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HayleyBMuncyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Start for a Busy Day”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our group of six - 3 adults & 3 teenagers had our breakfast there 4 times during our stay in San Francisco. Over the 4 days we had a variety of choices and never once was anyone disappointed. I found it very puzzling to read that others found the prices high because I never thought it was expensive for the quantity and quality of food we received. First day we ate at the hotel restaurant where I paid more the twice the amount than at Joanie's. Friendly waiters served us quickly so we could be on our way to explore the city. The place is small and they do try to accommadate everyone but I never noticed anyone getting rushed out of there. We only had breakfast there so I can not say anything about other meals but I would definitely go back there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanCanGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great start to a great day”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We were ready for brunch, having eschewed breakfast and cycled the mile or two from downtown. Joanie's did not disappoint. I had the combination omelette, my son had Eggs Benedict on corned beef with potatoes. Unlimited coffee then followed. Excellent. Cycle trip to Sausalito over the Golden Gate Bridge suddenly seemed a whole lot more manageable to a man who hadn't been on a bike for over 20 years... Great start to a great day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanAndCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joanie's Happy Days Diner also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Joanie's Happy Days Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing