We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joanie's Happy Days Diner

Joanie's Happy Days Diner
Ranked #58 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Oak Brook, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have to eat here whenever I'm in SF - it's tradition. Their breakfast is great, make sure to try the potatoes or one of the breakfast burritos! The people working there are very friendly. It's not the cheapest place for breakfast but worth it anyway.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    191
    45
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vestal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Exceptional service, very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our first visit to Joanie's was on a warm November morning, so we enjoyed the outdoor bistro table seating. Our waiter was very attentive, our coffee mugs never got below half filled before he served warm-ups many times. The portions were large and well prepared. We enjoyed the fresh fruit cups immensely--every fruit was freshly cut and included watermelon, cantalope, blueberries, strawberries and kiwi. The menu contains all the standard offerings and the food and service were so good we went back a second morning before days filled with sightseeing. Bring a hearty appetite---we couldn't finish all the food served with our breakfast orders.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jem312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruckersville, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Close to the Argonaut Hotel and easy walk. The food was good and plenty of it. Loved the home fries and lots to choose from. Coffee fresh and hot. Small....but make this a stop

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had breakfast here as a recommendation of our conceirge at the Courtyard Marriott across the street from the diner! We were not expecting much as it was the only restaurant near the hotel that was open at 730am. However, we were pleasantly surprised! There were a lot of selections on the menu and all very fairly priced, especially for FW area of SFO. Portions were large and two meals fed 3 adults easily! Friendly wait staff and there were tables outside to enjoy the fresh air!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveljess21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Food....and alot for the good price!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

The staff were VERY friendly!! Great amount of food and a great price. We sat outside and was relaxing. Oh, did I mention I had 3kids with me!! Very family friendly!!

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Joanie's Happy Days Diner also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Joanie's Happy Days Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing