We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean & friendly”
Review of Hotel Mayflower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mayflower
Ranked #22 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had a great visit. Staff was welcoming and kind. Location was great and only walking distance from hotel. The breakfast was good and included during our stay. They had free wifi and a parking garage. We look forward visiting back very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Candie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

The room was clean and comfortable (although the walls could have been a little thicker -- but when we called to complain on the one night our neighbors were noisy, they quieted down right after the call and we didn't hear from them again for our entire five-night stay). It was very nice having a trundle bed in the room for the kids. The free breakfast was especially nice -- cheese, ham, hard-boiled eggs, bread, mini bagels, muffins, some kind of yummy breakfast cake, oatmeal, and a variety of beverages.
The location was ideal -- just a few blocks from Union Square but far enough that we could avoid a lot of tourist noise. We could walk just about everywhere we wanted to go -- Chinatown, North Beach, Embarcadero.
The hotel staff was terrific -- so friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay at the Mayflower again, and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed at the Mayflower Hotel in SF for three days in october with my wife and our two years old toddler.

I booked in advance.
I was very disappointed. Because they gave us an old and totally **** up room. One thing is a good old "patina" and a historic touch: I like that. But the room should not smell like not cleaned in a hundred years. And the room should not have holes in the floor. To take 140 bucks a night for such a room is robbery and unexcusable. I mean: it was not the problem, that the room had not been cleaned well by the maid: the problem is that it hasn't been cleaned well for YEARS... Smelly smelly smelly.
Beware of the "parking garage": I managed to get my car save in and out. But the scratches on the walls of the parking lot tell a different story for many other visitors. And the clerk doesn't really help you getting in and out. (With mirrors folded I had about 10 cm free space to the sides in total .)

Apart from that the breakfast was nice. You have WLAN on some "hotspots" mostly outside of your room. For example on the second floor: when you sit on the fourth step of the staircase...

In total: Terrible because of the filthyness and the smell of the room. The lobby is nice to look at, but you better stay at another hotel and enter the lobby for a picture.

Take another hotel. The Mayflower Management is not integer. They should not give away such a room at this price.

Room Tip: One thing: The Hotel is very old. If you go there anyway: Check the nearest fire exits from your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lereops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 nights in San Francisco, we stayed at the Mayflower and we had a very pleasant stay. It is an old hotel I guess similar to other properties but that is a good thing. It was very warm and friendly. The room so we're nice, clean and the bathroom was very clean too. It is very centrally located not far from everything, a few minutes walk to major attractions, shopping, restaurants and the famous cable car which is on the line that goes to Fisherman's wharf. San Francisco has an amazing charm and so does this property. The room rate was good for the location and was one of the better valued places around. It has free parking for smaller vehicles, we had a small Chevrolet SUV which we managed to squeeze into the basement car park, anything bigger would be a struggle,,, parking was free. The guys on the front office were very helpful and gave us the ins and outs of the city which was great being from out of town. We would highly recommend the Mayflower, it is not like the large 5 star hotels but we were made to feel like 5 star guests. Breakfast was included in our room rate which was a big bonus. Would DEFINITELY stay there again if we ever went back.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank TurboDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I'll echo that this hotel is a great value, especially for those sharing with 3-4 people. The rooms are average but comfortable and clean. The foyer is gorgeous, with a cozy reading nook on the second floor. The old elevator is a trip! They also had Internet stations/free printing on the 2nd floor nook. Breakfast was beyond the average - not only toast, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, coffee, tea, fruit, but also cheese, meats, fresh muffins,etc. Most of the staff were very friendly.

The hotel would be excellent with a few updates to bedding, carpeting, etc. The age of the building showed a little - for example, the power outlet in our kitchenette kept reseting and the mini fridge could not be plugged in. Also, the "kitchenette" was simply a sink and fridge with a few dishes, but it's something. It was interesting that they still maintain a paper reservations system - worked fine and has its charm - though it seemed to be a source of stress for the staff. Hope they will update!

I was intrigued to try this hotel after reading some of the older reviews. We were looking for a very inexpensive, safe, centrally located place to stay, and we were not disappointed! The rooms are not luxurious, but I would recommend it many times over to anyone traveling on a budget, or who appreciates local character.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ducky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My friend and I stayed 4 nights in the Mayflower at the end of September. I spent a long time trying to find a hotel that was central but everything was very expensive. The Mayflower was so reasonable and was in a great location. The staff are vey friendly - giving great advice and tips on places to eat, visit, etc. Breakfast was included which was a bonus. Bread, ham, cheese, yoghurts, fruit. The room was spacious with a kitchenette, walk in wardrobe and separate bathroom. It was quite dated but very clean and a comfy bed. Would definitely recommend it if on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbug99ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Great old vintage hotel. The price is great the staff was awesome the location was not to bad just a few blocks from Union Square. Will stay again!!
Went with friends to see a SF Niners game (woot woot) everyone enjoyed the Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,540 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
2,894 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hote...
#21 of 230 in San Francisco
871 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayflower

Address: 975 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $100 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel San Francisco
Mayflower San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing