We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Location”
Review of Hotel Mayflower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mayflower
Ranked #20 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay (about 5 nights) at the Mayflower very much. Location - great. Room - clean and comfortable. We booked a room with a microwave and fridge which was great for those travelling on a budget. The kitchens are cleaned by the staff each day but it would be better if they left a little sponge and washing up detergent in the room. The room only seemed to have a fan so it may be hot if you stay in the warmer months. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was fine and the muffins made a great snack later in the day. Americans in general don't seem to know what strong cup of tea is so use two teabags.

Room Tip: Not sure. We had a room on the 6th floor at the rear of the hotel and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights nights in Sept 2013. The inside of the hotel is quaint and furnished nicely, the walls are painted beautifully. The hotel is situated on a busy road and if you have a front facing room can be noisy at times. The location of the hotel is not the best for accessing Fisherman's Wharf, although is handy for the shops. The breakfast was nice but more room would be appreciated, as at the busy times it can be a little cramped.

The staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bilbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Room was adequate especially if you're out site seeing all day. Room was clean but tired.Reception staff were pleasant & helpful. Breakfast can only be described as adequate in content, although plentiful in the amount you can have. NB to families no breakfast cereals for children only bags of ready oats. The hotel did have an odd smell reminded me of old people's nursing home! My back suffered dreadfully from 3 nights on a poor mattress. Good location for the sites & sounds of San Francisco.

Room Tip: Not room 411rubbish view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurseclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Mayflower in the first week of October and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The hotel is very quaint and has a lovely feel to it. We had a family room and this was a good size and we all really enjoyed the breakfast. I would definitely recommend staying here, we didn't have any complaints at all. The rates are also very reasonable as we found it less than half the price of the hotels at Fishermans Wharf plus you also get to see a lot more of the city at this location.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Linnettfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Mayflower hotel is a lovely hotel with an old charm feel. Walking distance to Union square and fishermans wharf. When we originally booked they did not require a deposit or payment which we thought was odd and concerning but the staff we great. Definitely worth a stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Marisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Clean, comfortable, good location and best of all free parking for a small car.
Older hotel, not too fancy, decent breakfast and free computer. Be prepared to walk or use a cab. Public transportation is close by but if your on vacation and time is short, cab is the way to go. The money you save on parking will cover cab costs.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were a little concerned as they did not want upfront payment or a deposit for our booking. This worried me as I didn't want to be arriving late at night to find our accommodation not available, but very happy to say all was good. It is an old hotel with a lot of charm and in a great location. Rooms were spacious, furnished with lovely furniture and very clean. Hestor and co were very helpful in offering advice and a pleasure to deal with at all times. Was surprised to find there is complimentary breakfast, basic but adequate. Would definitely recommend staying at this hotel. Thank you Mayflower for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,476 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayflower

Address: 975 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $100 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel San Francisco
Mayflower San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing