We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location, friendly helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mayflower

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mayflower
Ranked #22 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

An easy to reach hotel, whether coming by car or other means. Staff on reception always happy to give advice on trips and other facts about the city. We stayed on 3rd floor towards the back. Hardly any noises, so slept well. Our double double room, was clean and tidy ensuite could do with an update but was clean. Hotel has an extremely small underground car park which is always full. Was recommended to park around the corner at a valet garage on Leavenworth, but fairly costly. On second day we found a cheaper as alternative a few more blocks down Bush Street. Breakfast a simple as affair of toast and coffee. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    519
    99
    14
    7
See reviews for
274
435
64
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Loved The Mayflower & can't really fault it. The location is a few blocks from Union Square & Chinatown which is fantastic. The hotel offers FREE car parking if you let them know when you make your reservation. Be careful if you have anything other than a compact as it is tight in there! But, it will save you at least $40 a day so well worth it. The front staff were very friendly & offered help & advice when asked; I was given an excellent running route. I would absolutely recommend it & would stay here again if I was ever to return to San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had stayed here 6 years ago with our 2 kids and it really was a great choice back then so decided to do so again. It still was! The room we had was a corner room on the 3rd floor with a full size and a trundle twin bed. The hotel is truly unique in many ways. The beautiful hand-painted murals are very charming, as is the super old elevator. Our room was clean; but the bathroom, though clean was pretty sketch with cracked tiles and a "remove only by owner" sticker still on the toilet (obviously from a remodel, but come on...). Front desk was a mixed bag. Charlie was not too personable, but everyone else was. Our room was always clean and we were left with fresh towels each day. The value (we only paid $145 a night) and location are wonderful. When parking is included (yes, the garage is small, but a standard sized car fits just fine) and breakfast, too (don't complain when it is totally free for this price!!) and you are in the heart of San Fran (just minutes to walk to many locations cable cars, Union Square, and yes, the Tenderloin). We would stay again. Oh yes, the reservation you make will be only via the phone; they don't even take your credit card number to secure it...I did call ahead to confirm and all was fine...pretty sure they write it in a notebook and they will hand write you a receipt.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hinkgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Think European two or three star hotel. Quaint lobby, old, unique elevators, narrow hallways, small rooms, no AC. This hotel is a great find and value (for San Francisco). Good location near Union Square and public transportation. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Our room had a wet bar with microwave and frig. We paid extra for a view, but I don't think it's worth the extra charge. There's not much to view in the area. I did have one complaint about the continental breakfast. It was adequate, but they kept bringing out the same stale muffins day after day. They did the same with old apples- the only fruit offered. They need to refresh their inventory daily, but we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ltcjdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

really nice hotel, lots of charm, very helpful staff and really clean, good location although its not that far from the tenderlion bad area few blocks but far enough away. they tell you to say clear as well you should, we drove through it on arriving and its not pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

stayed 5 nights here on our second leg of west coast tour...first time in san fran ... was very impressed by friendly welcome and was very helpful with general information about the city..our room top floor good views over city ....very comfortable and quiet room..had all essentials ..if want hair dryer ask reception u get free of charge...no kettle but just boil tea or coffee in microwave no problem....store next door for all your drink needs..beds very comfy and was very quiet at night...all in all excellent hotel gr8 location and first class staff...definatly recommmend this hotel and will stay again here...ty mayflower for relaxing stay..... mick and karen from england......

Room Tip: top floor back of hotel ....think we in 618...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doctor90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were looking for a clean, economically-priced hotel, and this fit the bill. The location was great, as everywhere we went was a 10 minute walk, or a $10 cab ride. The room was indeed clean with a microwave, small refrigerator, plates, glasses, etc. There was a huge walk-in closet, and the bathroom was small, but ok for us. The breakfast was good, enough to get your morning started.The woman at the front desk was soooo nice, the young man-not so much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohiotraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,909 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Petite Auberge
Petite Auberge
#21 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayflower

Property: Hotel Mayflower
Address: 975 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel San Francisco
Mayflower San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing