We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value!”
Review of Hotel Mayflower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mayflower
Ranked #20 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Mayflower was the perfect room w/ plenty of space for me & my BF's 3-night stay. Plenty of nightlife & eateries with blocks of the hotel.
The hotel is VERY CLEAN!! & equipped with all the necessities: microwave, fridge, closet space, plates, cups, sink... Irons upon request.
Our room [205] had a view & was just perfect for us! A short walk to the muni stop on Stockton. Definitely worth the low price, quiet enough to sleep with the windows open.
Will be staying again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steel_BZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,145)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mayflower
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Its clean and have almost everything.

Hester is very helpful and will always give me advise and information I needed.

Location was not very idea I think as I have to walked quite a long walk from the station.
Cable cars are always full and buses are not so frequent.

Breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mamamia2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in May for a few nights and were really pleased with our choice of hotel, selected from reading good reviews on Trip Advisor. It is a quaint and beautiful old place full of character, in a very convenient location for catching the famous cable cars and for walking to Union Square and all its shops and buses. The staff were very friendly and helpful, our room was quite large and very clean and situated on the fifth floor at the back of the hotel, very quiet. Free Wi-Fi and continental breakfast included. Great value for money. We would recommend and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank misfitz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel is quaint, clean and easy to navigate. The ladies and gentlemen at the front desk were extremely willing to be helpful. For the price, this hotel cannot be beat! The continental breakfast is a bit lean, but again, for the price, it was very reasonable.

On service: one morning we had to leave by 6:30 AM - the gentleman at the front desk made sure breakfast was open and ready - the coffee already brewed! He took care of getting our cab, too! Sooooo nice!

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are a noisier at night. Bring ear plugs.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel had some of the best service I have ever had. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They recommended fantastic restaurants and also supplied free wifi and breakfast!
It is an old hotel with lots of character and charm.
Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellsie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the Mayflower for 4 nights. My friend that lives in SF told me that the area around the hotel "The Tenderloin" can be sketchy after hours but we didn't have any problems walking around. We actually found the location to be a plus since it was located within walking distance to many attractions. They do have free parking but it is limited to very small cars. You have to ask the front desk staff to unlock the garage door every time you want to enter/exit. The entryway is very, very tight. If you have anything larger than a Ford Focus, it won't fit. We had a Focus and it barely squeezed through (it took folding the mirrors in and careful maneuvering for several minutes to get in without bumping anything). If your car fits, the benefit is obvious since parking in SF will set you back $25+ per day. The front desk staff is very nice and accommodating. Housekeeping does a nice job tidying up every day and restocking the room. Make sure to look inside the mirror in the bathroom for extra TP and tissues (we didn't realize this until later). Wireless internet is free with a password the front desk provides but is very spotty and was barely usable for me. Our room had a large walk in closet with an ironing board but no iron and a antique chest/dresser. We also had a mini fridge (with tiny freezer compartment for ice making) and a microwave and kitchen sink. They provide a couple of coffee mugs, a couple wine glasses, and a couple tall glasses. There were also two sets of plates/bowls and two sets of cutlery provided. Free breakfast is served in the early morning and is a definite plus. They had things like toast, nutella, PB&J, butter, muffins, scones, biscuits, cheese slices, cookies, oatmeal, appelsauce, hard boiled eggs, OJ, coffee, tea, and some fruit (apples, etc.). This was a very nice added bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blag0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Mayflower for 6 nights while in tow for a friends wedding. We LOVED it.

Location: Great. Right in the heart fo Knob Hill, walking distance to almost everything. Well, me and my wife prefer to walk so we can see everything the city has to offer. If you are not a fan of walking then SF might not the city for you (especially if you hate hills), but you can buy a transit pass which allows unlimited rides on cable cars, trams and busses. We did this for one day but you can also purchase a seven day pass. (the one day pass pays for itself with 2 rides on a cable car.)

Room: A little outdated but clean. The best part is it looks like this hotel used to be an apartment complex. It has a kitchenette, which was great for storing wine and snacks. Something that helped to decrease the cost of SF foods. We traveled in May and it was a little cool, which I loved. However, we did have a street view room and I don't know if the hotel has air conditioning. This could be a problem if was hot, with street noise. If you opened the windows and had the ceiling fan on it you got an amazing breeze.

Hotel: Great breakfast, that is included in the price. This probably saved us at least $20 a day, again SF is very expensive. The staf was great, very helpful and prompt with any issues we had (like fresh towels, reserving cabs etc.)

Cost: Great. I don't know where you can get a better deal. We paid $110 per night, and for the heart of downtown it was great.

Room Tip: We had a street room, we liked to have the windows open to help cool it down at night, but it was a...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teeters323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,318 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
5,279 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
3,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayflower

Address: 975 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $100 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel San Francisco
Mayflower San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing