We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away from Home”
Review of Hotel Mayflower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mayflower
Ranked #22 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Mayflower numerous times in the past few years and find each stay has been greeted with an atmosphere of "Welcome Home." The owner and staff have always been kind and accommodating to my numerous requests for whatever I may ask of them. The rooms are clean, well maintained, and the morning breakfast included with the cost of the room cannot be surpassed for taste /economy, truly home cooked with care.

Room Tip: Rooms are available for various budgets. Call ahead for room type. Rooms closer to the street will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rogermann64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband, adult daughter and I stayed at the Mayflower for 4 nights in January. We wanted a good, clean location in Union Square, and the Mayflower fits the bill, at a great price. The hotel is as described, by most reviewers on tripadvisor. This is an older hotel, but has a lot of character. The rooms are vintage....not fancy. They are clean, and the beds are fine.Our room was on the side of the building, with no view, so street noise was not a problem. We did not spend enough time in the hotel room to care about a view, and the 'no view' rate is cheaper. . The room had a mild musty spell, but we keep the window open when we were out, and the window was cracked at night. There is small wet bar with a refrigerator and microwave, along with a few cups, wine glasses and utinsels. They serve a complimentary breakfast, which is not fancy, but will get you started in the morning. You have a cable car stop a couple of blocks from the hotel, and a great selection of restaurants/bars/shopping within walking distance. The staff is very friendly and will answer all your questions. We enjoyed our stay at the Mayflower...and SF!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jck1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is in a 1929 "old" building, so keep that in mind as you ride up their elevator. The place is just classy. The beds are decent -- full-sized, perfect for one big person or two regular sized people; the complimentary breakfast is delicious (must try the scones), the staff is friendly, and the building is beautifully maintained. The price is right, hovering aroun ~$100 per night and they provide parking (which I did not need). There's also a great bahn-mi place across the street and Westfield shopping center is just a 10 minute walk away (longer if walking back up the hill). I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hkwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Mayflower during the weekend before New Year's Day. I stayed in a double double room with 2 other friends for 3 nights for about $127 each night (tax included). The Rooms were clean. They were fixing the room next door but it wasn't much of a problem since we were out and about during the day. Room was clean with drinking glasses, a microwave, a heater, a mini fridge, tv, and TWO (yes two) walk-in closets. The wireless internet didn't work in my room, so we borrowed an ethernet cable from the front desk. I am wary of sharing wireless with a lot of people, so this was better for me. There are also 2 computers and a printer on the 2nd floor, which proved useful for printing out our boarding passes. The hotel also has an old-school elevator that we had to figure out how to operate but I think it just adds to to the uniqueness of the hotel.

The hotel serves complimentary continental breakfast each morning starting at 7 AM, which was a big plus for a person like me who has to have breakfast each morning. There were scones, muffins, cookies, biscuits, sliced bread, hard-boiled eggs, Nutella, various teas, orange juice, coffee.

Nothing to really complain about except for the parking. The driveway is very narrow so getting into/out of the underground garage is a test in patience. If you bring your car, hopefully you bring along a companion to be on the lookout for any cars that may be entering the garage while you're exiting. Each time you enter and leave the garage you have to ask the receptionist to open the door. There's nothing that can really done to fix that. But overall, it was a great experience. Front desk staff was professional.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khuyen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were extremely pleased with our stay here. Good location, easy walk to major bus route and cable car line. Great value, friendly staff. Older building but clean and well maintained. Mini-fridge, microwave, the market next door and several restaurants near by were also a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LSHTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in December. We loved the hotel's lobby and the old lifts too. Our room was quite spacious, with two double beds which unfortunately had sheets that didn't feel very clean and looked rather dated. On entrance, we could smell chemical stench and the air felt stuffy. We liked the toilet setting though there was no ventilation fan, so it was rather foggy and stuffy. At night time, we could hear noise from the next room. There was free breakfast until 10am downstairs. The free Wifi was non-existence due to poor signal. In terms of location, the hotel was a walk uphill from Union Square and will probably take about 15mins. A streetcar line is just a few blocks away. To be honest, our expectations were high for this hotel reading previous reviews. There were just a few things that we found disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lamby-Bamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights only. It's a small hotel. The lobby and study area above the lobby gives the hotel character. Then there's the murals and the lifts.

Our room was quite big and came with a fridge and a little kitchenette area (microwave, sink). There is even a little walk-in closet, which proved useful to put in our big suitcases. Love the cute bathroom.

The hotel provides light breakfast comprising of hot drinks, cookies, bread and muffins. Went just to have my obligatory morning tea before we leave for the day.

Wi-fi is free but unfortunately not reliable during our stay. Staff is mostly helpful and friendly (one woman was a bit gruff, but I suppose everyone has their days).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruzanna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,474 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
5,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayflower

Address: 975 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $100 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel San Francisco
Mayflower San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing