We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not Recommended” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Global Village Hostel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Global Village Hostel
Save
You added Global Village Hostel to your Saves list
A TripAdvisor Member
“Not Recommended”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2006

This hostel is the filthy and disgusting. Roaches, trash, feces, semen, urine and mice, you name it... Showers were broken. Some doors and windows didn't lock.

This was the scariest place I think I've ever stayed. I didn't have anywhere else to go so I had to stay there - but only for one night. The neighborhood is dangerous and scary. The hostel is dirty and filled with junkies. We checked in at 10am and I smelled liquor on his breath. When we checked out the next morning, he couldn't find the receipt for my key ($5 deposit) and I had to threaten to call the cops before he would refund my deposit! Actually threw my money at me!

Screaming fights took place almost all evening. Carpets in the hall were stained, pee-smelling and squishy (yuck!)

Never, never again. I mean, the place is cheap, but just because you are cheap, you don't have to be so dirty and downright disgusting.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    1
    0
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
1
Rating summary
  • Rooms
  • Location
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2005

I would rather sleep on the cold and wet street of San Francisco than sleep/stay in this dump. Even if you paid me a million dollars, I wouldn't stay here. Do yourself a favor and find accomodations elsewhere. There are far better and even cheaper alternatives.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2005

Avoid this place like the plague. It's the filthiest and utterly most disgusting place I've ever seen on Earth. Roaches, trash, and mice are everywhere. Nothing works. Showers, doors, and windows are all broken. There's no even functioning A/C or heat working.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2005

I have previously stayed at the Global Village and it really wasn't that great. Being a person that believes in second chances i decided to stay again, this time it was a whole lot better. The hostel is now under new management and has all new staff who are very friendly and helpful. The hostels cleanliness has also improved by 100 percent i would now recommend this hostel for anyone traveling, especailly those on a budget.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2005

I stayed for a week and can't say enough about the staff
the room were average and remodeling was going on
but the staff especially harry potter who actually looks like the movie character was great

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2004

I have been to so many hostels in so many countries in my life but this is quiet possibly, the WORST hostel in the world! No words can actually describe how disgusting and horrible the conditions are in this place. Avoid this place like the plague!

Helpful?
6 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2004

This place was awful, it was unclean, the rooms smelled of urine, the doors and windows barely locked and being in the rough area it is I really didnt feel safe, I was literally afraid to go to sleep at night, was originally supposed to stay for 7 nights, but could only handle 2, me and my four friends moved because we couldnt stick it any longer. Definitely wouldnt recommend it to anyone.

Helpful?
3 Thank LBW1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
No photo provided
Courtyard San Francisco Downtown
#68 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 941 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#26 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,628 reviews
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#93 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#20 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,146 reviews
SoMa
W San Francisco
W San Francisco
#69 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Village Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Village Hostel

Property: Global Village Hostel
Address: 374 5th St, San Francisco, CA 94107-1021
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 53 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing