We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual and delightful”

Magnolia Pub & Brewery
Ranked #366 of 5,664 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Haight-Ashbury
Description: Gastropub and artisan brewery serving house-brewed ales. Specializing in English-influenced and cask-conditioned beer alongside made-from-scratch, locally sourced California pub food. Bar always open at least one hour after kitchen closes.
UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unusual and delightful”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Cracking range of beers (to be expected) and interesting range of local wines. The sausages were all excellent as were the fries.

They were packed out on a Monday night, and the staff were still courteous and in control.


All in all, this was a great place for one night. Make sure you don't get seated near the entrance though, my brother got a bit chilly!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zerodosage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    120
    32
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portland, me
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only good things to say. . .”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

The brews are super palatable, a lot of lower abv, so you can enjoy multiple and still walk home. Sausages are out of this world, I had to try multiple after finishing the first. Friendly and helpful servers and bartenders. Angie is the bomb.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mainemattyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We went here on our recent visit to San Francisco. The food was very good, and the beers were also very nice. The staff was friendly. We enjoyed the restaurant and the area it was in.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ask108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great spot for a beer and a bite”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stopped here at about 11AM on a Saturday and it was getting busy, but we were able to get a table without a wait. We came for a couple beers and a little food to hold us over until lunch. We ordered the Big Cypress Brown and the Cole Porter Cask. We also had a side order of bacon and scotch quail eggs. Both beers were very good surpassing expectations. The bacon was thick cut and delicious. The scotch quail eggs were the star. The mustard aioli sauce was an amazing combination with the sausage wrapped eggs. This has become a new must stop for future trips to San Francisco.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Table Matters”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Let's start with the positive. The house-made sausages are really good. I had the smoked pork and cheddar and my husband had the Filipino longanisa (his took the prize between the two).

We're really into craft beer, and we found the beer to be fairly mediocre. Still, had we had a better experience with the staff, we would probably go back for the food.

When we arrived, we were first seated at a table *right* next to the curtain by the door. (A couple that had been seated there a few minutes ago had asked to be moved.) We gave it a go but the curtain kept blowing on my husband, so we asked to be moved as well. There was an open table that I thought were were going to get, so I sat on the booth side, but the hostess motioned us on to a table right next to the server's station and the bar. My husband spent the entire meal being knocked around by bar patrons and servers trying to squeeze past him to the kitchen. NOT a good experience.

That other table sat open while we suffered, btw... Why we couldn't stay there, I have no idea.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hopper211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Pub & Brewery also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Magnolia Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing