We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and affordable dining”

E&O Kitchen and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
E&O Kitchen and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #243 of 5,939 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Union Square
Cross street: Grant St. & Stockton St.
Transit: Few blocks away from both Powell and Montgomery Bart Station
Description: E&O Kitchen and Bar is a modern Asian restaurant and lounge located in the heart of San Francisco's vibrant Union Square. Spanning three floors, the restaurant offers numerous function rooms available for private dining, parties and special events. The selection of beautifully crafted dishes and drinks served in the bustling bar, lounge or sweeping dining room provides guests with a memorable San Francisco experience.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The location is wonderful if you're in the Union Square area for shopping. The menu is creative and unique. What's wonderful is that you can find options for gluten-free or vegetarian diners as well as for the rest of your group. It's really fun to share a variety of the dishes among a group. Prices are quite low so it's an affordable option for a group outing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roxieontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda B, Manager at E&O Kitchen and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for this wonderful review, Roxie! It's great to hear how impressed you are with our flavorful and unique dishes. And of course, we're always more than happy to accommodate any dietary preference!

Cheers,

Marcelle, Assitant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 493 of 823 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

My partner and I chanced it here without a booking and the staff couldn't do enough to get us in. We sat at the chefs table which was fascinating if not a little hot but worth it. Our waiter recommended food and what to order, he was very friendly and always on hand. the food was easily the best meal of our entire trip. Very much recommend!

Thank Claypipe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda B, Manager at E&O Kitchen and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thanks very much for the recommendation, Jade. Glad we could get you seated, and even more happy you had a wonderful time. If you're ever back in the Bay Area, we'd love to see you again!

Best,
Marcelle, Assitant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I had a great work dinner here, with lots of tasty dishes. Best bet is to go with a large group so you have the option to share small plates. However, this place got pricey quickly so it's more of a nice night out than every day eatery.

Thank ProfessorVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda B, Manager at E&O Kitchen and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for this great review! I'm glad to hear your business dinner went off without a hitch. The next time you're in the mood for a nice night out or another group dinner, we hope you'll think of us!

Cheers,

Marcelle, Assitant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Warm and sophisticated ambiance of this place is a welcome retreat from the huddle bustle of downtown San Francisco. Good appetizers included tuna tartar and Asian deviled eggs. The black cod was spectacular. Try the noodle dishes as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank barymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda B, Manager at E&O Kitchen and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for this stellar review! I'm delighted to know we provided you with a tasty escape from the hustle & bustle of downtown San Francisco. I hope you'll think of us again the next time you're in town -- we'd love to welcome you back!

Cheers,

Marcelle, Assitant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

After a day of sampling wines in Napa, we drove into the city and parked. After walking in the wind, I was ready to eat. Checked on trip advisor and this restaurant was close. Excellent food! we tried numerous appetizers....the corn fritters are very, very good. You have to try them. we also had lamb naan, duck egg rolls and pork with rice noodles. All were very, very good. The lamb naan was my least favorite. Ambience is great. Definitely would eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SallyO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda B, Manager at E&O Kitchen and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for this wonderful review, Sally! Our Corn Fritters are a must when you're at our table, so I'm glad they didn't disappoint. Since the Lamb Naan was your least favorite, I suggest ordering our Butternut Squash or Shiitake Mushroom Dumplings -- I'm confident they won't let you down. Looking forward to your next trip here!

Cheers,

Marcelle, Assitant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed E&O Kitchen and Bar also viewed

 

Been to E&O Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing