We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tourist trap of Days gone by.”

Franciscan Crab Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Franciscan Crab Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #331 of 6,001 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Cross street: Taylor
Transit: Muni: F-Line
Description: Named best food at the Wharf by Sunset Magazine. Enjoy breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge while feasting on fresh seafood & more.
Reviewed September 5, 2014

This restaurant with all the celebrity photos, rich history and great view is sadly just that a place that USED to be something.

Everything here from the service to the food is dated and unfortunately for them, there is better food down the block and if you want a view, walk the pier.

I had the Ciopinno (This is SF After All) but was not overly impressed. The Crab Fondue appetizer was clumsy and as flavorful as a homemade fondue party gone bad.

The sourdough bread was the highlight but honestly they are across the street for Boudin Bakery so save your money and buy bread there.

Not Returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ncsoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene M, Manager at Franciscan Crab Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

I wish we had left a more promising impression. Thank you for your candid feedback, though. It's important to us that we preserve a good amount of our history and what has brought us to where we are today, but with that said, we do not want our dishes, atmosphere, and service to ever become stale. If you have any additional thoughts, please don't hesitate to reach out directly. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Jose Cuellar
comments@franciscanrestaurant.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,261 - 1,265 of 2,301 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2014 via mobile

We and friends were celebrating her birthday while vacationing in San Fran. He wanted to do a dress up night at a nice restaurant so we chose Franciscan. Thank goodness we had eaten a somewhat later lunch. When we got the menu, I just about choked!!! I decided then I was glad I wasn't really that hungry!! A Caesar salad was $12. That was without any meat. Our friends were treating us and I just didn't feel comfortable ordering salmon for $39, and that was al a carte!!! My husband and I shared a Caesar salad, which wasn't big enough for much more than 3 bits each and nothing close to outstanding, and each had a bread bowl of crab chowder which was very average or less. Tasted his shrimp and was VERY AVERAGE OR LESS. Unless you do HAVE more money than brains and don't mind wasting good money, I would avoid this place. Absolutely nothing special about it. It did have a nice view of the bay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 2babybluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene M, Manager at Franciscan Crab Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

It's disappointing to hear that you were thrown off by our menu and pricing. That is not something that we try to hide from people. Our prices are reflective of our prime location on The Wharf, and the quality of the dishes we offer.

Sincerely,
Jose Cuellar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2014

We enjoyed the the dungeness crab so much we dined here twice on a recent trip. The the lotsa crab was good for two people and the garlic sauce was great for dipping. The skillet mussels and the garlic steamed clams were great appetizers. The ice cream sundae had some of the lightest ice cream we ever had. The view at sunset was fabulous as the one wall was all windows overlooking the bay! As the restaurant is upstairs and with the different levels, every table has a view. Request a table right next to the window for the best views. It was nice to escape the crowds at Fisherman's Wharf.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DM11Rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene M, Manager at Franciscan Crab Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Thanks for escaping with us not once but twice! It's great to hear that you had such a lovely time. Come back and see us for some fresh crab next time you're near!

Sincerely,
Jose Cuellar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We had lunch at Franciscan's, and it was delicious. Service was very good as well. White wine, crab salads, oysters on the half shell, wonderful baked french bread - is there anything else better at Fisherman's Wharf on a sunny afternoon? And the view of the bay is unrivaled by any other restaurant there. Simply marvelous. A bit pricy, but worth it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene M, Manager at Franciscan Crab Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Mike, you're right -- when good weather on the Wharf meets with great good, you can't go wrong. Thanks for sharing! See you next time.

Sincerely,
Jose Cuellar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Amazing food, top class restaurant with brilliant views of the harbour and Alcatraz. A very extensive menu with every dish you could think of. Would highly recommend.

Thank Wendy19612013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene M, Manager at Franciscan Crab Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Wendy, your recommendation is humbly appreciated. Thank you! Next time you make it back to San Francisco, we hope you'll think of us.

Sincerely,
Jose Cuellar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franciscan Crab Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Franciscan Crab Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing