We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Popular For Breakfast”
Review of Sears Fine Foods

Sears Fine Foods
Ranked #96 of 5,664 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Union Square
Cross street: Sutter
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Popular For Breakfast”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Be Prepared to Queue!! Sears was located next door to our hotel and seeeing as there was a long queue every morning (even the Police queue'd) we thought we should give it a go. We got up early one morning especially to beat the queue however that didn't worl! As a couple we didn't have to wait too long about 15 minutes. Once inside the tables are located quite close together and it is very bustly and busy however you are not rushed.

I had the famous swedish mini pancakes which were lovely with fresh fruit. My partner had the corned beef hash.

The waitress came round with regular coffee top ups.

Sears is famous throughout San Francisco it appears and I am pleased we visited as it didn't disappoint.

I have scored 3 for romance and special occasions as this did not apply to our visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieAndRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,151
    1,123
    436
    105
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Its a must do!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were staying at the Sir Francis Drake hotel across the street from this restaurant so we enjoyed breakfast and one lunch there. Loved the small pancakes for breakfast. My husband had the full eggs, toast and bacon. We also had lunch one day and I had the Franciscan crab sandwich that was outstanding. There was no wait either time because we were coming early for breakfast- around 8am and around 2 pm for lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetogoAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast, great atmosphere”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Located in the Tenderloin (not my favorite place to stroll through but some great restaurants to visit). Fun, funky decor, industrial, rusty metal adornments, cool. Food was good; we ate eggs in a skillet with bacon, biscuit & potatoes. Portions average (but biscuit tiny). Our Waitress & the hostess had no customer service skills, no smiles & almost rude. We witnessed friendlier staff floating around so two duds out of 8, not bad. We would return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jillrenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great find!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Comfort food with a twist of fabulous. The crab chowder is fantastic, the sea bass with lemon caper butter sauce was soooo good. atmosphere is average and price is good for what you get.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lerin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Had breakfast here, good food!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Even though it was busy, they seemed to move people in and out at a good rate. Egg white omelet was no problem.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank luckytravels66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sears Fine Foods also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Sears Fine Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing