We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay.”

Oriental Pearl Restaurant
Ranked #206 of 5,664 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It was okay.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The service is very quick. We were in and out in 40 minutes.
The egg rolls were good. The portions are small.
The chicken in brown sauce was rubbery but perhaps it was just overdone.
My husband had shrimp and scallops but it the shrimp were just okay.
The wonton soup was good but the noodles had more mushrooms than meat and they put broccoli in the broth.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrfarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    204
    64
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chinatown treasure”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We walked around Chinatown soaking up the atmosphere for an hour or so before stopping in here for dinner. We got there right at 5, first ones in for dinner. The hostess made some great recommendations for what to order, ultimately we decided on one of the set menu options. We went for option B, the honey walnut shrimp and kung pao chicken were calling to us. For two people it was a very cost effective to do it that way, lot of food and affordable. And so tasty! The staff was great, no rush and kept the pace of the meal quite relaxing. The food was flavorful and prepared beautifully. We were full but not stuffed when we left, we did take some leftovers with us. The honey walnut shrimp in particular was too good to leave there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reesie471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
338 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Unassuming appearance; tasty dim sum”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stopped into Oriental Pearl late one weekday afternoon. We were pleased to know that their dim sum menu was still available (we got there around 230).

The nice thing about the OP is that they have a set Dim Sum menu, and it's generous and very reasonably priced. While, not surprisingly, we liked some of the items better than others, we found them all to be of good quality. Moreover, they take their time, bringing one item out after the prior one is finished. You're never rushed, and always treated extremely graciously.

They have two dim sum menu options. We opted for the basic menu which was very filling. Moreover, at about $13 per person (excluding drinks), it waaayyy less expensive than fancier options (like Yank Sing, for example). They also have a full bar as well.

So, if you're in Chinatown and want some unpretentious well-prepared and nicely presented dim sum, I doubt Oriental Pearl will disappoint.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MongoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were initially put off by how quiet it was but then it does close early on a Saturday evening, the staff could not have been more helpful. The hot and sour soup was lovely and peppery and the main courses of Prawns and peanuts and mongolian beef but both beautifully tender and nicely spiced.

Great restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LozKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good Asian (Chinese) restaurant”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We try to go to this restaurant whenever we visit San Francisco. It's delicious, the people are wonderful, the food is great!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gardengumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Pearl Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oriental Pearl Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing