We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, a MUST”

Pier Market Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #102 of 6,028 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Cross street: Embarcadero
Description: Voted Best Seafood in San Francisco by KRON 4 TV Best of the Bay, Pier Market is an authentic sustainable seafood restaurant where the locals go for the freshest local seafood in the city. Pier Market is family-owned and operated and one of the most popular dining destinations on Fisherman's Wharf. Pier Market has been selling San Francisco's freshest seafood since 1983. We feature Fresh, Mesquite-Grilled Fish and Meat, Dungeness Crab, Pastas, Steaming bowls of our Award-Winning Clam Chowder in Authentic Fresh Sourdough Bread Bowls. We offer two large al fresco patios for heated outdoor dining.
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

It is the third time I have dinner at the Pier Market over the years, it is my favorite place in San Francisco, not just in Fisherman Wharf.

It is a truly outstanding experience, amazing food, friendly staff, informal venue and very good price.

I have a chowder in the sourdough bread at every visit and I have just found out that for a very small extra you can have a refill in the very same bowl.

My wife had grilled salmon and it was excellent too.

TRULY RECOMMENDED - DO NOT MISS THIS!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank AG70IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,334 - 1,338 of 2,995 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2016

Everything is fine. Quite crowded and need to wait for a while. Tastes good. Not cheap. But then this is SF. have reasonable expectation

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rach_lr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

Great food and service, had the local fresh seafood, Cod & Swordfish. Very good. We were sat near windows and had a view of fishing boats.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank cel1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

Amazing Views and seafood await you at this restaurant! I ate the platter with pacific cod, bay shrimp and calamari and it was excellent! Great service!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 683gayew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

Located on the ground floor of the bustling Pier 39 tourist Mecca on Fishermans Wharf is the popular Pier Market. Established in 1987, the Market caters to both sit down diners and those who prefer an outdoor take away counter.

After a short 20 minute wait we secured a window table in this busy and popular eatery. Our server was friendly but rather overworked so we had to keep asking for things like water, bread, wine, etc.

The food was fine and my 2 Maine Lobster tails were small but nicely flavoured by the mesquite grill. The clam chowder was excellent and a must try if you dine here.

All in all we managed to enjoy the experience of seafood by the Bay in the midst of throngs of hungry tourists. Pier 39 has some amazing shops and is a nice place to take the kids and enjoy the teeming tourist epicentre of SF. Pier Market was fine, but next time I'll visit when it's not so busy.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank John54Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Pier Market Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pier Market Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.