We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love their walk-up counter for orders on the run”

Pier Market Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #102 of 6,028 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Cross street: Embarcadero
Description: Voted Best Seafood in San Francisco by KRON 4 TV Best of the Bay, Pier Market is an authentic sustainable seafood restaurant where the locals go for the freshest local seafood in the city. Pier Market is family-owned and operated and one of the most popular dining destinations on Fisherman's Wharf. Pier Market has been selling San Francisco's freshest seafood since 1983. We feature Fresh, Mesquite-Grilled Fish and Meat, Dungeness Crab, Pastas, Steaming bowls of our Award-Winning Clam Chowder in Authentic Fresh Sourdough Bread Bowls. We offer two large al fresco patios for heated outdoor dining.
Reviewed July 17, 2016

We were visiting Pier 39 late on a cool Saturday evening and were craving a warm bowl of clam chowder in a sourdough round (afterall it's SF!). We didn't feel like sitting down in a restaurant and came across the Pier Market which had a walk up counter with a variety of seafood entrees to go. We ordered chowder in a sourdough bowl, and I loved that they asked if we wanted the chowder in a separate container. It allowed my wife and I to more easily tear up the sourdough and share it. The chowder was awesome! Just the right balance of clams, and vegetables and not too thick. Just loved the convenience the Pier Market offered.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,349 - 1,353 of 2,995 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2016

We definitely felt that the food quality, taste, and price were better here than some of the other Wharf restaurants. When we arrived the place was packed but the host staff did a wonderful job of getting us a window table without a lot of wait.
The clam chowder was excellent. The calamari appetizer was good, not great. My husband had the fish and chips - quite delicious. My Pier Market mixed grill (salmon, swordfish, and shrimp) was excellent.
The service was proficient. It's a busy place so not overly personal. However, it's a great place for lunch.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IQ_Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 16, 2016

Pier 39 was packed for the 4th of July, which made impossible for us to have dinner at this restaurant. However they have a grab'n'go stand outside, where you can order fish/shrimp and chips, some good sandwiches (we had - and liked a lot the salmon burger), all grilled on fire and their clam chowder on a sourdough. Besides the sandwich we had the clam chowder, which not only went perfect on that windy and cold evening, but presented itself very tasty, well seasoned. Between this and the clam chowder from another big place there in the area, which we also took the next day, we certainly preferred this from Pier Market.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank benhub
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Try thier clam chowder! It was absolutely delicious! The location of this restaurant is on Pier 39-a very touristy spot in this area but it really was good! I recommend reservations during peak months but we were a walk-in at 9:45pm and got a really nice table with the water view. Service was super efficient!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank TripSJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

We ordered 4 things from starter menu- scallops, sweet & sour calamari, honey bbq shrimp & garlic fries along with a clam chowder sourdough bowl which we shared between two! The food was delicious and we were served our food within 5/10 minutes of ordering! Portion sizes were good and the amount we ordered between two left us completely stuffed! Would definitely recommend this restaurant!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Tricia1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Pier Market Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pier Market Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.