We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit of a tourist trap, very busy but good food”

Pier Market Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Pier Market Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #97 of 5,711 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Cross street: Embarcadero
Description: Voted Best Seafood in San Francisco by KRON 4 TV Best of the Bay, Pier Market is an authentic sustainable seafood restaurant where the locals go for the freshest seafood in the city. Pier Market is family-owned and operated and one of the most popular dining destinations on Fisherman's Wharf. Pier Market has been selling San Francisco's freshest seafood for 34 years. We feature Fresh, Mesquite-Grilled Fish and Meat, Dungeness Crab, Pastas, Steaming bowls of our Award-Winning Clam Chowder and Authentic Sourdough Bread. Enjoy watching our chefs at work in full view of our bustling open kitchen overlooking the San Francisco Bay, the PIER 39 sea lions and Alcatraz Island. We also offer al fresco dining on our wide-open patio.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“a bit of a tourist trap, very busy but good food”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

stopped there on a whim, very busy, they were able to find us a spot in 2 minutes, the food was good, had better but was happy with what they presented, the chowder was a bit heavy on the cream side, my friend had the crab and loved it
so its a bit of a tourist trap but pretty good food (a bit over priced as expected....)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eagle132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    660
    218
    53
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yummy chowder”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Oysters on the half shell don't compare in size & value to those from NOLA but they were tasty nonetheless. The clam chowder and sourdough bread were over the top!! Our server Jose was very helpful and informative about access on our next day's journey to Candlestick. Can't wait to visit here again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti_DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food, service and views.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner there and had the trout stuffed with crab which was really nice. My wife also had seafood which was good. We both shared crab cakes which were also good. Had great views with the sunset and the service provided by our waiter Michael was informative and efficient. Would go back again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thommo4113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Clam Chowder in Sourdough Bread Bowl! Yes!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

After watching the Pier 39 sea lions and capturing many photos of them, and viewing the exciting America's Cup Race, it was time for that bowl of chowder that I was craving! Yes, it was time for heaven in a bowl!.. could it be a sourdough bread bowl? or a real bowl with sour dough bread as accompaniment? I think I must've had the best clam chowder in the entire world! (Yes New England, even counting you!)... The chowder was divine, filled with large chunks of clams and potatoes. That, along with a glass of my requisite pinot grigio, completed my lunch! Simple perfection.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cattailcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just as Rated in Tripadvisor”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived about 45 minutes early for our reservation and were told it would be about 10-15 minute wait. I thought that was great as the restaurant was busy and we were very early. We sat at the bar and were immediately asked if we would like to see there wine and beer list. The bartender was just wonderful. Our drinks had barely arrived and our buzzer went off that our table was ready. I started to pay the bill and the manager said they would transfer it to our table bill (w/o even asking). Awesome! The food and service was exactly as it was represented on Tripadvisor by others. My wife had the Swordfish and I had the Shrimp Combo. Both meals were outstanding. I highly recommend the Pier 39 Seafood Market, if you only have one dinner to eat in San Francisco.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank majcigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier Market Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pier Market Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing