We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sister restaurant in Santa Rosa seems to be the only Dim Sum in Santa Rosa”
Review of Hang Ah Tea Room

Hang Ah Tea Room
Ranked #16 of 261 Coffee & Tea in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sister restaurant in Santa Rosa seems to be the only Dim Sum in Santa Rosa”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Delicious Dim Sum in Santa Rosa at Hang Ah's sister restaurant of the same name. From chicken feet to pork buns of all types. Excellent Chinese greens. Tasty sauces. Saves the one hour drive from Sonoma County to San Francisco to find Dim Sum.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    75
    24
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
“So this guy on a corner hands me a menu.....”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My family and I were walking through China town. We stopped at a street corner...noticing a playground and a guy hands us a sheet of paper for the Hang Ah tea room. Normally we'd keep going but I like to visit shops and restaurants just off the main streets. I figure they typically have to better prices / quality to stay in business. We gave it a go and were glad we took a little walk up the hill.

The prices were very reasonable (especially for SFO) and quality was very good. We had the $20 "meal for 2-3" plus a couple of orders of spring rolls. It served three adults and two (small) children lunch. We're not big eaters - but it was just the right amount of food - for the right price.

...and then kids ran and played in the playground for 30mins.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JC2004Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese food”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great value and good tasting authentic Chinese food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ramin444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden gem worth finding”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I am so glad that I found this place! A friend and I were exploring the city, and I was looking for a new go-to place for dim sum since my old standby Y. Ben House was closed down. I found it! Hang Ah is slightly off the beaten path, which I enjoy. It was very busy the day we were in there due to the Chinese New Year Parade/Street Festival, but we found it to be well worth the wait.

Not knowing what to expect with portion sizes, we assumed tiny tourist trap portions and after a long morning of hiking and exploring we were starving. Between the two of us, we ordered: shrimp dumplings (4p), 2 orders of the hang ah bbq pork buns (2p), curry beef rolls (2p), egg rolls (3p), hum su gok (3p), pot stickers (3p), fried wontons (8p), and beef balls (3p). We ended up waaay over ordering. The food covered every surface of the table, and we gave it everything we had but still had to tap out with at least of 1/3 of it left. No regrets, though, as most everything was delicious, and we gave out the leftovers to the homeless we passed on our way back to our hotel. The pork buns were absolutely perfect - I still dream of these pork buns! Large, soft, delicate flavor, just the right amount of meat...I think my husband has grown tired of me waxing poetic about them! The curry beef rolls had just the right amount of curry for my taste: not overpowering, but enough to give off that rich flavor & aroma and leave a bit of heat in the back of your throat. The pot stickers were also huge and had great flavor. The wontons had a meat filling, which neither of us expected, but we definitely enjoyed. My friend found the shrimp dumplings and egg rolls to be perfectly cooked with delicate crispy outsides and nice consistency on the inside. The only misses for us were the hum su gok and the beef balls. The beef balls are boiled/steamed, and for me they had a weird texture and the flavor was so subtle I could have been chewing on anything. With the hum su gok we weren't sure what it was or what to expect, but we got it in the city spirit of being adventurous. Maybe it's how it is always prepared, but for me the crispy outside/slimy chewy inside just weirded my senses out. I'm one of those texture eaters, and things like that just don't do it for me...but I digress.

In the long short of it I'll definitely be back, and I would recommend it to anyone else wandering through Chinatown as well.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank onecreativejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I've been missing this food”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

On arriving in SF we went looking for lunch and ended up at Hang Ah. You have to look for it as the door is on the side of the building, facing the fenced play areas. We ordered off the ala carte menu. The green beans were some of the best we've had, the pot stickers were excellent, and we ordered extra pork buns to go. The foil wrapped chicken was so-so. I don't remember everything else we ordered, but we walked away very happy and the bill was very modest compared with other meals in SF.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hang Ah Tea Room also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Hang Ah Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing