We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
San Francisco
Post
Inbox
Search

“Inexpensive diner fare”
Review of Golden Coffee Shop

Golden Coffee Shop
Ranked #617 of 6,556 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Diner
Neighborhood: Lower Nob Hill
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Lower Nob Hill
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was good basic breakfast food in a tiny spot. Cash only! I had eggs, toast, sausage and hash browns. Mom had the Denver omelette. Bill was $17.

Date of visit: August 2013
Thank nancy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 108 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We eat breakfast here at least once when we visit San Francisco. Vintage Diner atmosphere, the food is good, simple and prepared well. The value can't be beat! If you don't mind eating at a "no frills" place for breakfast and want a good diner quality breakfast - this is a little gem to try out!

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The cafe was close to our hotel and we had breakfast there one morning. The place is very basic but the food is decent and worth the money. Good choice for the standard american coffee, pankages, bacon etc.

Date of visit: June 2013
Thank Traveler1982222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Loved coming here - chilled atmosphere and great food and you watch them cook your food around a sociable high table

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ahscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Golden Coffee House consists of a counter and 2 to 3 small tables. The counter seats about 15 and takes up about 75% of the place. The counter is ‘U’ shape with the grill closing the gap of the ‘U’. You can watch the cook pour your pancake batter of flip your omelet (which he does with some finesse).
The breakfast menu is simple but long. Many of the selections are variations on a theme, for example, 1 egg/one bacon, 1 egg/2 bacon, 2 egg/2 bacon, etc. There is a section with about 8 different omelets.

My wife went light with two eggs and two bacon strips. I had the “Joe’s Special” omelet made with onions and mushrooms. I was very pleased with the food. The omelet was good and more than enough to keep me going for hours of sight-seeing.

A word of warning. I do not want to leave the reader with the impression that the place is dirty. It is not. But it is old and cramped. If you are a germ freak you may want to look for a Denny’s some place. If you want a good breakfast in a friendly neighborhood restaurant then go here.

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Escarcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to Golden Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing