We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely champagne brunch in a grand setting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden Court

Garden Court
Reserve with OpenTable
Garden Court is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #631 of 5,644 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $35 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: Market St.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely champagne brunch in a grand setting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We came here one Sunday after a skiing holiday before catching a flight back home and it was a lovely way to finish the trip.

Exactly what you'd expect from a hotel of this standard - lovely selection of fruit, cheeses, seafood, cooked breakfasts, roasts, bread, Chinese and Japanese offerings and desserts, all with bottomless coffee, juice and champagne (although wine is extra).

The setting was beautiful and relaxing (with some light live music and no screaming children) and the service great - they were more than happy to provide some fresh, vegetarian-compatible gnocchi without the flaked salmon on top.

Price was reasonable too, would definitely go again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    63
    24
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“very grand & exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Several exquisite chandeliers adorn the massive room. The glass dome ceiling resembles the "Balconies Restaurant" at the Royal Opera House in London. My family enjoyed Sunday Brunch although expensive. There is a wide selection of savory dishes. The grand atmosphere is complemented with relaxing music (piano, cello, violin). The servers are very busy so it takes time to get your requests for refills or bill. It was a great dining experience that I highly recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoieAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The most beautful restaurant in S.F!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Surrounded by elegance, this established restaurant is my favorite breakfast spot! The food is excellent and wonderful service. I would recommend the Sunday brunch!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing Sunday Breakfast Buffet”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Sunday, February 16, 2014 was not our first visit to this fabulous setting. It was, however, enough to question ever going back. My wife and I were traveling with our 10 year old granddaughter and wanted her to have the special experience of the Garden Court. They open for breakfast at 9:00. We arrived at 9:15 a.m. without a reservation and were seated promptly; then nothing happened. No acknowledgement from wait staff that we had even been seated. Eventually someone showed up and took beverage orders and we left the table to go to the buffet. At this early point they were out of several items including French toast, pancakes and eggs. A cook is present who one would assume makes omelets to order. Wrong! They are only cooking scrambled eggs which are served runny and could be brought to the serving line from the kitchen. The cook will also fry eggs one order at a time. Bacon labeled crispy was nearly raw. Our server did take bacon to the kitchen to have it cooked for us but we got it back near the end of the meal. Silver dollar pancakes showed up later at the buffet which we tried. They were rubbery. Even our granddaughter commented that it looked like they weren't ready for customers. Breakfast buffet is $32 for adults and $19 for children.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mkcrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brunch at the Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was an all round magnificent experience. The Sunday brunch has all you could ask for - excellent food, great service (especially from Donny), wonderful ambiance. What a beautiful place; imagining the horses and carriages driving up and dropping people off was so much fun! Service is their specialty. Our champagne glass was never empty. The music was good too. But the food was the star. Everything you could think off and all excellent. We will be back. Well worth the price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tassy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden Court also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Garden Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing