We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Service, Coffee and Snacks”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Specialty's Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #3,652 of 5,645 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Neighborhood: SoMa
Concord, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Service, Coffee and Snacks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stopped in before a meeting to get some coffee but could not pass up the delicious looking snacks on display and was not disappointed. If you are looking to grab a quick bite this is as good as any in San Francisco. Plenty of seating and fee WIFI which I took advantage of while letting the clock run down to my meeting.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimbokli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
178 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Nice coffee place with excellent coffee and good pastries and quiches. Nice change from Starbucks.*****

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Docterloeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great muffins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

I ate in once and had delivery three times (two lunches, one breakfast) during my stay. All of the things I had -- four cheese sandwich, home made granola in yogurt, vegan salad, and turkey sandwich - were good. I especially loved the bread as it has toasted poppy and sesame seeds on the crust. The absolute best overall thing was the carrot muffin. The only thing I didn't really enjoy was the snickerdoodle.

The delivery was organized by our classroom host after browsing their on-line ordering system. One needs to plan about an hour and a half in advance, but it worked very well.

Their online ordering system *rocks*. Wow, in Web mecca, they hired the right folks to allow you total customization of meals with pictures and itemized tallies of prices and nutritional values.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jimcarson_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Boycott Specialty's”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

I had the WORST experience at this establishment. There was a customer ahead of me in line that didn't like his soup's temperature, so a manager came over and did something to adjust but apparently the man was still unsatisfied so he walked over to the girl calling out the sandwiches and threw it on her, looked at her like she was garbage and walked out. Now this is the part that amazed me is that though they had a full staff, a male manager, NO ONE did anything to help this girl. They did not call the police or take any witness reports, nothing. I am personally banning this company and hope you will do the same. There is no reason to let a company treat their employees like that and on further researc found out they give no benefits, holiday pay and are unbelievably unhealthy. They are a nutritional nightmare with most of their sandwiches weighing in at an average of 900 calories for a sub par snack, I call it that due to the fact it comes with no sides. And speaking of sides, forget that cookie it averages 500 calories!

Helpful?
Thank aidin900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing cookies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

Amazing cookies

Helpful?
Thank Shayne67
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Specialty's Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Specialty's Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing