We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spanish themed brewpub”

Thirsty Bear Brewing Company
Reserve with OpenTable
Thirsty Bear Brewing Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #287 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $8 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: 3rd Street
Transit: New Montgomery Station MUNI & BART
Description: ThirstyBear is the first & only Certified Organic brewery in San Francisco!! Pairing Spanish cuisine of Tapas & Paellas with hand-crafted organic beer, sangria, Spanish & California wines, & full bar with premium spirits. ThirstyBear serves only sustainable harvested seafood; all natural meats free of growth hormones & synthetic additives; and local organic seasonal produce. ThirstyBear recycles all paper, glass, aluminum & plastic. We compost all organic matter; we recycle our cooking oil into biodiesel. Our menu paper is post consumer recyled; our to-go containers are recylable & or compostable. We use energy efficient lighting, heating, cooling & conserve water in the brewery & restaurant. Feel Great about what you eat & drink here!! We're an establishment that cares about your health & our environment!! Support your local Organic Brewery!!
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
446 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“spanish themed brewpub”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The menu here revolves around spanish entrees such as tapas. Also, at certain hours usually in the evening there are flamenco performances in the middle of the restaurant. There is a mixture of bar and dining seating and a long bar. You can order both craft beers and mixed drinks here. This place does draw a lively crowd in the early to late night evenings.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoben01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron S, Owner at Thirsty Bear Brewing Company, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience. From our fun assortment of tapas to our great selection of beer, it sounds like you know what we're all about! Next time you're back in San Francisco, please join us again!.

Cheers,
Ron, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    183
    90
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
146 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Visiting San Francisco for work a colleague booked the Thirsty Bear for a large group dinner. I was a little skeptical when I hear we were going for dinner at a 'bar' called the Thirsty Bear that was also a micro brewery. I was completely surprised by the experience. Our server was excellent as was all the food I tried. If you are looking for a good place for a diverse crowd to get together I would certainly recommend the Thirsty Bear.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CdnExPats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron S, Owner at Thirsty Bear Brewing Company, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
I'm happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised! Thanks for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear how much you and your group enjoyed dining with us. Showing our diners a great time is what we're all about. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Ron, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good beer”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Went here with a large number of nerds ... Excellent beer with a nice atmosphere... Home away from home.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kernalpanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron S, Owner at Thirsty Bear Brewing Company, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We're honored to be your home away from home! Thanks for your kind review here on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your support and business. See you next time!

All the best,

Ron, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such good beer!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We came here in the summer and were wowwed by the beer. There was a really good range and all delicious. The tapas was also very varied and tasty. We would highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Han H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron S, Owner at Thirsty Bear Brewing Company, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
I'm glad we could "wow" you, Han! Thanks for sharing your experience here on TA, and for recommending us to your fellow reviewers. We can't wait to see you again!

All the best,

Ron, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere - good place to have a company event”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I was here for a small company Christmas party. The food was pretty good, but I really loved the homemade pickles!! This is a place that you should ask for recommendations when ordering. They really know their beer, and likewise, just ask for whatever they recommend on the menu as well. The staff was very friendly, and for how busy it was, I think we were actually served fast and efficiently.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron S, Owner at Thirsty Bear Brewing Company, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks for sharing, Alyssa! I'm glad you had such a good time spending your holiday Christmas party with us. We truly enjoyed hosting you all! Hopefully it won't be too long before we get to have you back.

All the best,

Ron, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirsty Bear Brewing Company also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Thirsty Bear Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing