We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Conveniently Located and Quirky.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #133 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Conveniently Located and Quirky.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

The artworks on the walls in the rooms make this hotel highly individual and this seems strangely appropriate in San Francisco's French quarter. As other reviewers have pointed out, this is otherwise a budget-style hotel with features (such as the spartan breakfast) bordering on a hostel-type environment. It suited our needs and the hotel is very well situated but we were underwhelmed by everything other than the comfy beds. Our room is small but very clean and adequate, the breakfast is convenient but by no means offering extensive choice and the staff are there if you need them but are by-and-large unenthusiastic.

Inconvenient factors include the lack of air con and the buzzer entry system. We had to rely on someone from reception buzzing us in each time we returned to the hotel as we weren't supplied with a key and they weren't always prompt. Most significantly, our room is like a sauna as there is no air con and ventilation is minimal. Noise from the street with the windows open is prohibitive to sleep so the whole situation is a bit difficult.

We really only needed a bed and a clean shower in reasonable proximity to the attractions and the Hotel des Arts delivered a unique take on this facility so by all means stay here but don't expect luxury.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JSW390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    206
    116
    53
    66
See reviews for
46
251
57
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Straight to the point: it's a budget hotel. This means small but clean rooms, no service and a very simple complimentary breakfast in a tiny cramped room without tables and just juice, coffee, apples, bread and bagels. Still, it offers an OUTSTANDING value for the money.

Located virtually next door to Chinatown gate, you are really, really close to excellent restaurants, the Montgomery St. Bart station, Union Square, the SFMoMA and the best flagship stores. One can easily take the Bart from SFO airport and get here really fast and cheap. And since it is very close to Embarcadero, you don't have to spend too much with transportation.

The hotel itself is located in a century old building in very good condition and the thematic rooms decorated by artists are a plus that adds to its overall avant-garde charm (just make sure you first give your room a look, some themes can be a bit disturbing depending on your taste). And a big thumbs up to the staff, Patricia and Celia are really helpful.

If you are on a tight budget and want a well located, good place to sleep and take a shower, this is one of your best bets.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fsuzaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Husband and I stayed here for the weekend in SF. There are so many amazing works of art on the walls. If you enjoy street art and don't mind a small room, you'll love this place. Our room overlooked a little courtyard with brick walls covered in art. I really enjoyed this place! Quirky, fun experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had room no. 507 and stayed for 6 nights. The room was not as big as you may expect but absolutely clean and nicely decorated. Due to the location on the 5th floor with view to an inner courtyard it was pretty quiet and bright. The room had a flatscreen TV and ironing board and iron in a built in closet. There was also a hair dryer and small shampoo/soap/body lotion bottles were available in the bathroom which could need more shelves to place your cosmetics.
The breakfast room is located right behind the reception on the 2nd floor and there are a couple of stools where you can sit and enjoy coffee, bagels or toast, orange juice and apples or bananas. You're fee to take the breakfast to your room, as trays are available. The breakfast is not overwhelming but a good quick start into the day with a cup of coffee and a cream cheese bagel. There are also soda and snack machines availabe on the 3rd and 4th floor.
Staff is really friendly and helpful. The room was superclean and cleaned every day even with fresh sheets. The only problem on warmer days was that we couldn't open the window to the extend we needed to so the air was sometimes quite warm.
But all in all I can really recommend this place, charming and clean hotel for an unbeatable price in an Downtown location. Very close to Chinatown and Union Square, nice walk to Fisherman's Wharf.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter and brighter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninusca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Room: the room was clean and a little small. The only real con is that it had no bathroom but this was less annoying than I anticipated.

Location: perfect location. Buses, trains, stores, coffee shops, tourists spots. All within walking distance.

Staff: terrible staff. Antisocial with a "it's no my problem attitude". We left a cellphone in our bed and went out for breakfast. When we came back, the phone was gone. We went to the front desk, told the person that the cleaning lady probably took the phone along with the sheets. No problem , just check the used sheet bin. He told us he couldn't help us, and that the staff had left for the day and we could only check that in the next day. Asked him to call the cleaning lady, he told us he didn't have the contact for the person. Asked for the manager, we were told she was on a month vacation. After a while he magically found someone's phone that, told him exactly whether the phone was.
We had a lesser problem at checkout with a different staff member, nothing big but she also had a terrible attitude.

All in all, if you don't have to handle the staff, it is a pretty good deal.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CBalbinot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I had $160ish rate for the suites! Good value for what you get for the room! I love the artsy theme, and how the staff was friendly and efficient. The breakfast was so-so (some simple toast, bagels, coffee, and tea). I brought 4 big baggages when I checked in, so it was kind of a problem when I have to bring the baggages through the eerie and old elevator. More like a hostel than a hotel, tbh. Location? Great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citralg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

My family and I stayed back in Decemeber and we had a great time. The hotel is very "San Franciscly" and we loved it. We loved the tiny stairs and the old elevator. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are a little noisy but after walking all day, you are juts too tired to care about it. They renewed and painted with "street art" the rooms. Some of them are very cool and some others I just didn't get… Clean and cozy.

Room Tip: you should ask for a room in second floor so quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mateo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#151 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#71 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#152 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Chinatown
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#200 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#128 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Property: Hotel des Arts
Address: 447 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3704
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel des Arts is at the crossroads of Union Square, the Financial District and the Chinatown Gate; perfect for business or pleasure. The Hotel des Arts presents the contemporary work of local artists complemented by the neutral simplicity, modern lightings and clean lines of the hotel furnishings. The result is art as an interactive experience rather than just decoration. Enjoy our complementary continental breakfast or dine in Le Central, a French Brasserie right downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Hotel
Des Arts San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing