We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun experiance staying in a graffiti painted room”
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #135 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Perth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun experiance staying in a graffiti painted room”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hotel is in a good location, short walk to main shops in Union Square and a good base for exploring around San Fransisco. The rooms are quiet small but the make the most of the space, quite dark as our room faced inwards towards other rooms so we felt we needed to keep our blinds closed. Basic small bathroom - sink was in a closet in the main bedroom which was a bit odd, not sure if this was normal or just a once off in our room.
We opted for a crazly painted room and loved it as it will more than likely be the only time we stay in a hotel like this!
Beds were comfortable and the internet was really good and fast.
The evelator was sometimes a bit tricky to work so we generally took the 4 flights of stairs to our room which was good excersize but the stairwell is quite small.
We loved that the halls are filled with all kinds of different art which was changed out during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    209
    118
    53
    67
See reviews for
47
257
59
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Hotel des Arts is a great deal if you don't need a lot of amenities. The rooms are fun - decorated by local artists. Some are perhaps a bit scary (the room with Mao & Nixon), but overall entertaining. The bathrooms are small and minimalist. The breakfast is only toast, fruit, juice (not fresh) and coffee. Use your savings on the room and splurge around the corner at Cafe de la Presse. The rooms overlooking the back alley are terribly noisy - trash pick up at 3 am, homeless guys fighting...
The staff are VERY nice and helpful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DBH-AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This place is awful. From the paper thin walls to the "art" and some of the worst staff I have ever encountered. Have you ever had hotel staff threaten to call the police because you had a couple of friends in your room? We were told that and treated like children. This is not a hotel it is a hostel and not a very good one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m_jen45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Cons: The rooms are small, particularly the bathroom (there is very little space to move around or put your stuff). It's also right beside a bar so expect lots of noise at night.

Pros: The art decor is impressive. The location is convenient (near Chinatown, several cafes and restaurants, and only a few blocks from Union Square). The staff is friendly and accommodating.

Final thoughts: I would not return however it is worth the very affordable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleYEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights recently and would highly recommend it. The location is convenient (about 7 minutes walk to trains), hotel staff are very helpful and the decor is fun. The included breakfast (breads, pastries, juice etc) is a nice touch.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hapitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for nine nights with my boyfriend, mum and sister. Staff and cleaning staff were all very friendly and helpful. The location was absolutely perfect, right by the Chinatown gates. The French quarter in which the hotel is located is lovely too. I didn't really like our room on the first night, but the staff let us pick another one out of rooms available, which was good. It was a lovely place to come back to after a day exploring. Breakfast is a bit basic, but coffee was fine. Could have done with a kettle in the room but c'est la vie. Have to reiterate how amazingly polite and great the cleaning staff were. It was spotless! Miss it already. Even the old fashioned elevator :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatherineElizabeth80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#68 of 228 in San Francisco
1,732 reviews
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#157 of 228 in San Francisco
36 reviews
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#90 of 228 in San Francisco
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#148 of 228 in San Francisco
826 reviews
Union Square
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#200 of 228 in San Francisco
443 reviews
Chinatown
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
#104 of 228 in San Francisco
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Property: Hotel des Arts
Address: 447 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel des Arts is at the crossroads of Union Square, the Financial District and the Chinatown Gate; perfect for business or pleasure. The Hotel des Arts presents the contemporary work of local artists complemented by the neutral simplicity, modern lightings and clean lines of the hotel furnishings. The result is art as an interactive experience rather than just decoration. Enjoy our complementary continental breakfast or dine in Le Central, a French Brasserie right downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Hotel
Des Arts San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing