We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #135 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Cons: The rooms are small, particularly the bathroom (there is very little space to move around or put your stuff). It's also right beside a bar so expect lots of noise at night.

Pros: The art decor is impressive. The location is convenient (near Chinatown, several cafes and restaurants, and only a few blocks from Union Square). The staff is friendly and accommodating.

Final thoughts: I would not return however it is worth the very affordable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleYEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    209
    118
    53
    67
See reviews for
47
257
59
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Northern Territory
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights recently and would highly recommend it. The location is convenient (about 7 minutes walk to trains), hotel staff are very helpful and the decor is fun. The included breakfast (breads, pastries, juice etc) is a nice touch.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hapitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for nine nights with my boyfriend, mum and sister. Staff and cleaning staff were all very friendly and helpful. The location was absolutely perfect, right by the Chinatown gates. The French quarter in which the hotel is located is lovely too. I didn't really like our room on the first night, but the staff let us pick another one out of rooms available, which was good. It was a lovely place to come back to after a day exploring. Breakfast is a bit basic, but coffee was fine. Could have done with a kettle in the room but c'est la vie. Have to reiterate how amazingly polite and great the cleaning staff were. It was spotless! Miss it already. Even the old fashioned elevator :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatherineElizabeth80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel was perfect for my friend and I who stayed 1 night in SF before going to Napa. Its a really cool artsy hotel and each room has a different look and feel. We stayed in the smallest/cheapest room that was offered. It had a double or queen bed, a small vanity area with a sink and a TV. There wasn't much extra room to move around, but it didn't bother us at all. Our room didn't have a bathroom/shower in it (some larger rooms have bathrooms in them.) The small bathroom/shower was located a couple doors down from us and is shared by others on your floor. We showered really early because we were leaving so we didn't have a problem with others using the bathroom. I thought I was going to hate sharing a bathroom with others, but it wasn't bad at all. The staff was very accommodating and the hotel is located in a great area within walking distance to China town and trolley stops.

Room Tip: If you want a bathroom in your room, make sure to reserve one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank va1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location and price, this European style gem is steps for Chinatown and Belden place (little France). Although I am a local, most visitors who know of this arty spot are young overseas travelers. Every room is featured by a different artist. My favorite is the pink door room. Some are off key and some just plain odd but others are such fun. Ask to see empty rooms so you can choose your next stay or check out the photos. Beds are large. Some rooms have shared baths down the hall and others have claw foot tubs.Breakfast is tiny.

Room Tip: Check out the photos. They are all very different! I love the pink cartoon room but conservative vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scarletdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the level of service and overall standard of this hotel, considering we paid $90/night for a queen room with private bathroom. We stayed for a full week.

Room: This was the cheapest we could find Downtown in SF that looked half decent. And it was more than half decent. The rooms were a great size. They were impeccably clean and consistently cleaned very well every single day. Although other reviews complain about the bathroom size, it didn't bother us. Yes it was smaller, but let's remember the hotel is in the thick of Downtown SF, and the bathroom was bigger than many European hotels we've stayed in. The art was unique and made the room feel modern. The bed was VERY comfortable.

Service: The staff gave excellent service from start to finish--the perfect balance between helpfulness and being unobtrusive.

Noise: When we arrived the hostess noticed we had requested a quieter room and kindly changed our reservation to a room on the top floor at the back of the hotel, and we didn't find the hotel to be noisy from this room. I can see how it would be, as on the rare occasion other guests were on our floor we heard them quite clearly, such as consistent coughing from a neighbouring room. Try to get a room as high up and far back as possible to reduce noise. We stayed over St Patty's weekend and the Irish pub next door had a whooping party with music that shook the blinds, but this was obviously outside of the hotel's control, and this was only a problem on St Patty's weekend, and it was an Irish pub so a well deserved party I say!

Location: good location, very short walk to union square shopping, Chinatown, and bus, Caltrain, BART. However, limited value for money restaurants close by.

The free breakfast is very basic but we really appreciated that they offered it. Access to microwave was great also.

Highly recommend this hotel. GREAT value for money.

Room Tip: As far back and as high up as possible to avoid noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 22bld22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#68 of 228 in San Francisco
1,732 reviews
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#157 of 228 in San Francisco
36 reviews
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#90 of 228 in San Francisco
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#150 of 228 in San Francisco
827 reviews
Union Square
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#200 of 228 in San Francisco
443 reviews
Chinatown
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
#104 of 228 in San Francisco
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Property: Hotel des Arts
Address: 447 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel des Arts is at the crossroads of Union Square, the Financial District and the Chinatown Gate; perfect for business or pleasure. The Hotel des Arts presents the contemporary work of local artists complemented by the neutral simplicity, modern lightings and clean lines of the hotel furnishings. The result is art as an interactive experience rather than just decoration. Enjoy our complementary continental breakfast or dine in Le Central, a French Brasserie right downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Hotel
Des Arts San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing