We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky, modern hotel in excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Arts

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #134 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Wellington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Funky, modern hotel in excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel is awesome and is excellent value for money with the ensuite rooms only $125! Each room is individually painted by hip young painters of the city. The room though smallish, had a great little bathroom, TV and other all other normal hotel things. The bed are very comfortable as well, especially for my husband who finds it hard to find a good bed in hotels, as he's 6ft 7 in tall!
The staff are are very helpful and lovely to deal with. Hotel is very secure, as you have to buzz to be let in. The location itself is absolutely fantastic, very central. Its right across the road from the green dragon gate to China town. Theres a seven elevan on the street for those midnight munchies and less then 5 mins walk to the central Westfield mall. Also 10-15 from the pier area too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahsgalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    208
    116
    53
    67
See reviews for
47
253
59
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We booked a room here for one night through a third party site, and though the hotel's site says to book through them for artists rooms, we actually ended up getting the room we wanted, decorated by artist Sam Flores.

Bed is comfortable, room is a good size, mini fridge is a plus. But water pressure in bathroom was very low, claw-foot tub/shower was tiny and there's no shelves to put toiletries on.

Complimentary breakfast was thin, but works if your strapped for cash. Recommend going somewhere else to really get a substantial meal to tackle the San Francisco hills!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meapale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This place was everything we expected from the website; cool, quirky and unique. Our room was individually decorated, and from views of other rooms, they're all just as special. The whole atmosphere of the place is very cool, but not in a snooty exclusive way, it's very laid back.

We booked a basic room and were pleasantly surprised to be given a room with en suite, but we did use the shared bathrooms while waiting for check in and they were all equally as clean. Or room was on the small side with not much room for hanging clothes but it did us fine for our three night stay.

The included breakfast was simple but filling and tasty. We ate in our room as suggested by the notice in the room it is served in, as space is limited in there, which seemed a bit odd at first but actually worked out well as we had table and chairs in there and it meant we could wake up a little slower. The coffee was particularly good, as was the free, very high speed wifi.

The hotel is steps from Chinatown and very centrally located. Walking distance to downtown, and to Market Street with all its transport links, as well as to Fisherman's Wharf, Telegraph Hill etc. Felt very safe to wander around at all hours.

The only complaint would be the noise at night. I'm not sure what happens in the alley at the back, but it sounds like people smashing glass, constantly all night. Maybe emptying bottle skips from local bars? After the first night, I gave it the benefit of the doubt and tried to sleep again without ear plugs, but by the third, I learnt my lesson. If you can tolerate sleeping in earplugs, the noise really is the only negative.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angilinaballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was our first trip to San Francisco and the Hotel des Artes worked perfectly for us. Our two-room suite (there were three of us) was painted in a charming art deco-like SF motif and we had plenty of privacy. Even though our 3rd floor rooms faced the street, we didn't notice any problems with street noise. The location couldn't be better--you're right between Chinatown and the Financial District with Union Square just up the street. The bed was just right--not too soft, not too firm. This was a great place to stay and I would definitely return if we get back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hank&Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xxxxxxxx
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

The Hotel des Arts might not be for everyone, but it made my stay in San Francisco very enjoyable.

The hotel is in a prime location for downtown activities. Just steps away from Chinatown, some amazing restaurants and bars, and a short walk to the business district if you're here on business.

It's in an old building on Bush St and comes complete with an old-school elevator with sliding cages instead of automatic doors. Parking is available in a garage about a block away. Not the cheapest place but there is no cheap parking in downtown.

The art is a very enjoyable alternative to the ersatz, pre-fab, milquetoast of your average hotel room. No cheesily framed pictured from gettyimages here. Actual artists have decorated your room and the photos on the walls are very worth the time to stop and appreciate.

The room was a bit on the smallish side and the bathroom was tiny....or least it seemed to be with the full-sized, cast iron bathtub with wrap-around curtain.

Overall I found it charming, funky, and well worth the visit. The staff were all very accommodating and helpful and beyond pleasant.

It does lack certain amenities you may be used to such as a pool or a workout room so if you need to have those things, maybe not the spot for you, but I was fine with this given how it felt to discover something new and beautiful every time I walked down a hall to look at the pieces on the walls.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarthBeerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I went to California for our honeymoon and this was the first hotel in San Francisco we stayed at. We were skeptical of the shared bathroom but decided to go for it because of the great price/location. We ended up getting upgraded to a room with a bathroom for free, however we did look at the shared bathroom and it is quite nice... It is private and clean as well so it wouldn't be bad at all. They had a nice little continental breakfast that was a pleasant suprise (nothing special but free breakfast none the less)The staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: They do have rooms with bathrooms so if that is crucial go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie171717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

One of the best spots in San Francisco - convenient to downtown/SoMa without being ensnared in it, whilst also near Chinatown, Nob Hill and Fisherman's Wharf. Each room has been decorated by an artist; ours was graffiti themed and truly unique. Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Breakfast was just OK - simple bagels for toasting, juice, some muffins - but it's located near much better outside options. Excellent value for money, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Check out the available styles beforehand and request one - they're all so very different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kauffmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#155 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#68 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#86 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#150 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#16 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Property: Hotel des Arts
Address: 447 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel des Arts is at the crossroads of Union Square, the Financial District and the Chinatown Gate; perfect for business or pleasure. The Hotel des Arts presents the contemporary work of local artists complemented by the neutral simplicity, modern lightings and clean lines of the hotel furnishings. The result is art as an interactive experience rather than just decoration. Enjoy our complementary continental breakfast or dine in Le Central, a French Brasserie right downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Hotel
Des Arts San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing