We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location and More”
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #143 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We booked a room here for one night through a third party site, and though the hotel's site says to book through them for artists rooms, we actually ended up getting the room we wanted, decorated by artist Sam Flores.

Bed is comfortable, room is a good size, mini fridge is a plus. But water pressure in bathroom was very low, claw-foot tub/shower was tiny and there's no shelves to put toiletries on.

Complimentary breakfast was thin, but works if your strapped for cash. Recommend going somewhere else to really get a substantial meal to tackle the San Francisco hills!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meapale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
There are newer reviews for Hotel des Arts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 605 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

This place was everything we expected from the website; cool, quirky and unique. Our room was individually decorated, and from views of other rooms, they're all just as special. The whole atmosphere of the place is very cool, but not in a snooty exclusive way, it's very laid back.

We booked a basic room and were pleasantly surprised to be given a room with en suite, but we did use the shared bathrooms while waiting for check in and they were all equally as clean. Or room was on the small side with not much room for hanging clothes but it did us fine for our three night stay.

The included breakfast was simple but filling and tasty. We ate in our room as suggested by the notice in the room it is served in, as space is limited in there, which seemed a bit odd at first but actually worked out well as we had table and chairs in there and it meant we could wake up a little slower. The coffee was particularly good, as was the free, very high speed wifi.

The hotel is steps from Chinatown and very centrally located. Walking distance to downtown, and to Market Street with all its transport links, as well as to Fisherman's Wharf, Telegraph Hill etc. Felt very safe to wander around at all hours.

The only complaint would be the noise at night. I'm not sure what happens in the alley at the back, but it sounds like people smashing glass, constantly all night. Maybe emptying bottle skips from local bars? After the first night, I gave it the benefit of the doubt and tried to sleep again without ear plugs, but by the third, I learnt my lesson. If you can tolerate sleeping in earplugs, the noise really is the only negative.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angilinaballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was our first trip to San Francisco and the Hotel des Artes worked perfectly for us. Our two-room suite (there were three of us) was painted in a charming art deco-like SF motif and we had plenty of privacy. Even though our 3rd floor rooms faced the street, we didn't notice any problems with street noise. The location couldn't be better--you're right between Chinatown and the Financial District with Union Square just up the street. The bed was just right--not too soft, not too firm. This was a great place to stay and I would definitely return if we get back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hank&Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The Hotel des Arts might not be for everyone, but it made my stay in San Francisco very enjoyable.

The hotel is in a prime location for downtown activities. Just steps away from Chinatown, some amazing restaurants and bars, and a short walk to the business district if you're here on business.

It's in an old building on Bush St and comes complete with an old-school elevator with sliding cages instead of automatic doors. Parking is available in a garage about a block away. Not the cheapest place but there is no cheap parking in downtown.

The art is a very enjoyable alternative to the ersatz, pre-fab, milquetoast of your average hotel room. No cheesily framed pictured from gettyimages here. Actual artists have decorated your room and the photos on the walls are very worth the time to stop and appreciate.

The room was a bit on the smallish side and the bathroom was tiny....or least it seemed to be with the full-sized, cast iron bathtub with wrap-around curtain.

Overall I found it charming, funky, and well worth the visit. The staff were all very accommodating and helpful and beyond pleasant.

It does lack certain amenities you may be used to such as a pool or a workout room so if you need to have those things, maybe not the spot for you, but I was fine with this given how it felt to discover something new and beautiful every time I walked down a hall to look at the pieces on the walls.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarthBeerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I went to California for our honeymoon and this was the first hotel in San Francisco we stayed at. We were skeptical of the shared bathroom but decided to go for it because of the great price/location. We ended up getting upgraded to a room with a bathroom for free, however we did look at the shared bathroom and it is quite nice... It is private and clean as well so it wouldn't be bad at all. They had a nice little continental breakfast that was a pleasant suprise (nothing special but free breakfast none the less)The staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: They do have rooms with bathrooms so if that is crucial go for it!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie171717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

One of the best spots in San Francisco - convenient to downtown/SoMa without being ensnared in it, whilst also near Chinatown, Nob Hill and Fisherman's Wharf. Each room has been decorated by an artist; ours was graffiti themed and truly unique. Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Breakfast was just OK - simple bagels for toasting, juice, some muffins - but it's located near much better outside options. Excellent value for money, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Check out the available styles beforehand and request one - they're all so very different.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kauffmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

With all the people complaining about the noise, even the Lonely Planet mentioned it, it was mainly the price that sold this hotel to me. And upon discovering that the Saturday night cost considerably more than the Thursday and Friday, I shortened our stay to two nights. The elevator made me a little nervous - as I am notions of elevators, and after we got the bags up, we took the stairs from then on. The stairs are steep and narrow and I imagine could be quite treacherous to older folk, or those that spend the night partying and imbibe too much alcohol! Despite the fact I thought we had booked a room with shared bath, we were given one with an ensuite. It was not large, but certainly spacious enough for our requirements and the painted walls added a nice touch. I did take some time to wander the halls, and stare at all the nifty paintings there. As for the promise of noise... We were at the back of the hotel, above the alley and the first night the garbage collector came at 1am. That was a wee bit noisy,but was over quickly. The next night it came earlier, before we were in bed. Aside from that, the walls seemed well enough insulated that we couldn't hear the neighbours or the noise from the street. The breakfast was substantial - muffins, toast, bagels, coffee and tea, also fruit on the second day. And it was no sweat to carry it back to our room on the tray helpfully provided. The people on the desk were ever present and friendly and the location is,of course, unbeatable at the price. We parked our car in the Stockton parking garage,and it was less than two blocks walk. That WAS a bit pricy, but this IS San Francisco after all. And for SF, $34 a day IS cheap for parking. Anyhow, price, location, friendliness, style and breakfast as well,I certainly would recommend it for the young and fit!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#154 of 230 in San Francisco
49 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#67 of 230 in San Francisco
1,850 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#157 of 230 in San Francisco
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 230 in San Francisco
1,363 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#21 of 230 in San Francisco
1,490 reviews
Union Square
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#201 of 230 in San Francisco
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Address: 447 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $152 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel des Arts is at the crossroads of Union Square, the Financial District and the Chinatown Gate; perfect for business or pleasure. The Hotel des Arts presents the contemporary work of local artists complemented by the neutral simplicity, modern lightings and clean lines of the hotel furnishings. The result is art as an interactive experience rather than just decoration. Enjoy our complementary continental breakfast or dine in Le Central, a French Brasserie right downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Hotel
Des Arts San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing