We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I loved this hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #137 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I loved this hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Fun art installation in my room! Great to not so great art in the halls. Friendly desk staff. Great location right downtown. Clean room and a comfortable bed. Even a microwave in the room. All this for $89 a night - I got a special rate, but still. Breakfast included but I slept through it. My new go-to hotel for San Francisco.

Only complaint was I could hear it loud and clear every time any of my neighbors turned on the water. Never knew water could be so loud. But I was tired so I slept well anyway.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    198
    110
    52
    65
See reviews for
44
241
54
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The hotel is indeed very artsy, which a lot of people will defintelty like. The rooms are very very small (and I am European so I am used to small rooms ;-)). The bathroom is fine, but also very small. The bed is nice, and the art work in the room and the corridors are very good.

Breakfast is included, which you can get in a small room to bring back to your room. This is a great service for people like us who only eat a small breakfast.

The access to the building is interesting and a bit vague, you have to get into a very old elevator with a heavy door. Not exactly a warm welcome :-).

The location is on the other hand great, next to China town (2 min) and Union Square (about 4). San Francisco is an expensive place to stay if you want to be in the middle of town, so value for money is a downside as this hotel was EXPENSIVE when we were there. On the other hand, most hotels are.. you basically have to choose between a better hotel more outside of the centre, or a simple hotel inside.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The hotel was clean, great service, beds good, great location. Old European feeling.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We booked this hotel over the phone the day before we were due to arrive in San Fran. We really liked the idea of the art and the location. The lady on the phone talked through the room options with us and we selected the room we liked based on the art and what was available. When we arrived we found that we had not been put in the room that we were told we could have. We were able to move to another room (still not ones of the ones that we had selected), and this meant being close to the reception and breakfast area which can be noisey at times. We were there for a Saturday night and when we got home (it was after midnight) there were a bunch of younger guests shouting and screaming out of their windows. They were playing their music really loud and jumping into the common court yard. This behaviour continued into the hours of the morning and the staff didn't seem to do anything about it.
The hotel is cute, clean and in a good location but we were put off by the guests and lack of attentiveness of the staff and do not think that we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Be clear and specific with the rooms you want and ask for a room away from the reception and street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BTraynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My mrs and I stayed only the one night but could easily have stayed longer.

The hotel was clean, staff very friendly and helpful, and free breakfast is never a bad thing.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMcKern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much. The accommodations were just what we needed, small room but very comfortable, the staff was helpful and the galleria style makes it a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leticia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed for three nights, although room was over a back alley didn't really matter. The Irish pub next door ideally located. Room was spotless with everything you needed although a little small. Breakfast was scrummy for a continental, and service spot on, so helpful. Parking expensive, but seems to be the case in San Fran.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aseild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#71 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,439 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#151 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#207 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#85 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Encore Express Hotel
#130 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Property: Hotel des Arts
Address: 447 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3704
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel des Arts is at the crossroads of Union Square, the Financial District and the Chinatown Gate; perfect for business or pleasure. The Hotel des Arts presents the contemporary work of local artists complemented by the neutral simplicity, modern lightings and clean lines of the hotel furnishings. The result is art as an interactive experience rather than just decoration. Enjoy our complementary continental breakfast or dine in Le Central, a French Brasserie right downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Hotel
Des Arts San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing