We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
100
34
6
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
34
6
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocket boat fun ride speed boat bay bridge adrenaline rush getting wet twists and turns boat takes super fun rock music playing plastic ponchos waterproof jacket a lot of fun ticket booth whole family fun experience boat tour
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 146 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I love this ride, we buy 2-for-1 tix every time we’re in San Francisco! Our last ride was yesterday, we had an awesome crew and I admit it was the best ride to date! Lots of 360 turns to generate great wakes to dive into! Lots of speed and air with a stop to take photos. Music choices were awesome! Thanks for never disappointing us!

Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis S, Manager at RocketBoat, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Thank you very much for your very kind review. We are super happy to hear you are regular RocketBoat riders and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

I purchased 3 tickets for myself & family thru a 3rd party vendor, TicketsAtWork. We went on the 2 pm RocketBoat ride on Thurs 8/9/18. 10 mins into the ride, one of the engines died. Those 10 minutes were thrilling & we had fun even if for a short time. However, the boat had to go back & the staff made an announcement that they would offer a replacement ride on one of their other boat fleets (non-RocketBoat) or we could opt for a full refund. It was disappointing, however all mechanical things break down at some point. The engine breakdown wasn't the worst part compared to how Blue & Gold Fleet handles what to do when one of their boats breaks down. They have NO procedure! The staff on the boat advised us to go to one bldg for the refund. After waiting at that building, one person did get a refund but then someone at the other window said, no, they don't give refunds there & we needed to walk to the other bldg further down the pier. We all walked there & still confusion & no knowledge of what to do(some staff nearby even turned their backs & walked away). Finally, a manager was called over who advised they could give refunds ONLY if you purchased your tickets at that box ofc; if you purchased them from a 3rd party, you had to go back to that vendor to request your refund. The manager was very nice and empathetic and gave me his card (he even divulged that they just had a staff meeting & discussed that they needed to create a process for breakdowns & refunds -- why didn't they already have one??!!). The whole process was ridiculous & took almost 45 mins. We were in SF for a short vacay & had to hurry and head toward Santa Clara for the 49ers game so I didn't have time to take a different cruise or waste standing in 2 different lines only to find out that they couldn't refund me. The icing on the cake is its been 2 wks today - & I still DON'T HAVE MY REFUND. Blue & Gold should refund ALL customers with a paid receipt regardless of who they bought their ticket from when THEIR boat breaks down and THEY should be the one to go back to the 3rd party vendor to settle up. None of this was my fault but I'm sitting here 2 weeks later without my refund. What a fiasco! It will be a fun ride but cross your fingers that the boat doesn't break down because that won't be the worst part of your experience.

Thank CJ80Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis S, Manager at RocketBoat, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

We are sorry to hear about your poor experience. We are looking into the issue with TicketsAtWork and will advise what we find out. We understand your frustration and are working to resolve this issue as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

Don't pay full price!

After your Blue&Gold Fleet Bay cruise, they offer you a discounted ride on the Rocket Boat when you show your Bay cruise ticket. $36 total for a 45 minute ride for me and my two sons. Very fun ride that jostles you around, gets you wet AND you get to go under the Oakland Bay Bridge. Professional skilled driver who masterfully gives you a fun exhilirating ride without putting you in traction the next day. More worth it than I expected at that price. It's not as violent or scary as they suggest. You will get somewhat wet. Folks in the back 4 rows got SOAKED. Sit in the front or center. They give you a rain poncho that does an adequate job.

Thank My_name_is_Paesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis S, Manager at RocketBoat, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Thank you for your very kind review and opinions. We are thrilled to hear you and your family enjoyed your ride and hope to see you all again very soon. All the best, Dennis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

The ride itself was a blast. The boat was fast, did a lot of sharp turns, and even felt like it got some air off the waves of a passing freighter. We also got sprayed pretty well with water (which they seemed to be doing on purpose), but the weather was warm and it fit in well with the experience. Only downside is that we spent most of our time south of the Bay Bridge and didn't really travel much around the Bay near the Golden Gate Bridge. Understandable since the rest of the Bay was teeming with sailboats and other tour vessels, but would have liked to see more of the Bay. That said, the views of the Bay Bridge and downtown SF were pretty fantastic, and we even ventured over to McCovey Cove and saw AT&T Park (which was cool for a baseball fan like me). Definitely worth the price, especially since your ticket stub will get you on another Blue & Gold tour for a fraction of the normal price within 90 days of your first ride.

Thank markcbrown0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis S, Manager at RocketBoat, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you for your kind review and feedback. We're glad to know you enjoyed the right and didn't get too wet. The views are definitely a highlight on Rockboat. Unfortunately we can't go all the way to Golden Gate bridge, but there is still a lot to see at high speed. Thanks again and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Very nice ride out in the bay. All employees on the boat were very courteous. Nice tour of the bay side. Really didn't seem that fast if that's your thing. You might get a little wet. 16 year old daughter really enjoyed.

Thank hrtbrk7186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis S, Manager at RocketBoat, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We really appreciate your feedback and we're very happy to hear that you and your daughter had a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

If you want an adrenaline rush experience the San Francisco RocketBoat is definitely for you. Once you clear Pier 39 the boat accelerates to full speed and heads out towards and under the Bay Bridge, with lots of high speed twists and turns in the process.

Be sure to take a layer or two as even on a warm day if the breeze whips up it will be a chilly ride back!

Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis S, Manager at RocketBoat, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Thank you very much for you kind review! We really appreciate your feedback and are very happy to hear you enjoyed your ride. Yes, it's always a good idea to bring or wear layers in the San Francisco Bay. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

A fun way to see views of the city. A little pricy for what you get, but we enjoyed it. Wish we would have sat closer to the front, think you stay a little dryer. Definitely different from your typical harbor cruise. Not quite as exhilarating as described and you can’t really hear the rock and roll.

1  Thank needhelp2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis S, Manager at RocketBoat, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Thank you for your review and feedback. We appreciate your input. We'll be sure to check the decibel level of the audio in the back and make sure people are aware of where the splash zones are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

I worked hard on this trip to San Francisco to find things to do with the whole family, ages 5, 13 and 15. My youngest son has autism, so this makes things even more difficult. It was difficult kissing $100 goodbye for this 30 minute ride. However, my teenagers screamed with delight at the wind, speed and getting wet. My five year old needed his noise reducing headphones and was a little anxious at the beginning but exclaimed how much he loved it in the end. It was a great little family bonding experience as we all laughed together. Would definitely recommend trying at least one time if you are searching for a family activity. Just wish the prices were a little more reasonable. Even with a discount, we ended up spending a lot.

1  Thank jenjram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis S, Manager at RocketBoat, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy to hear all three children enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2018 via mobile

We were a little disappointed to be honest. It wasn’t that exhilarating and is relatively expensive.

Personally, in hindsight I would have spent the same money going on a boat tour around the Bay going under the Golden Gate and surrounding area.

Thank felly70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis S, Manager at RocketBoat, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

We're sorry to hear this. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you'll have a better experience on your next boat ride.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2018

It seems enjoyable for kids. Loud music and fast times. Feels faster than actually going due to waves.

You can get a couple nice pictures of AT&T ball park and bay bridge.

Its an ok/fun experience but nothing spectacular or amazing.

1  Thank WizeGuyFromDaChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis S, Manager at RocketBoat, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews