We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Off the Grid

Off the Grid
Ranked #177 of 528 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yum!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

If you have never been to Fort Mason on a Friday night to experience Off the Grid you have been missing out!
We cruised the place before deciding we would be eating there AND taking door home for later.
This is street food at its finest and all in one location!
San Franciscans you are soooo lucky!!!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CinDUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    0
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food truck heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

What a cool way to eat! We literally went truck to truck to try out what there was until we couldn't move. Fun experience and neat way to try some fresh different takes on fusion cuisine. We went to the location near Haight Ashbury on a Thursday evening and there were loads of people. Hard to get a seat by the time we left.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank slissa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Off the List”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Been wanting to check out Off the Grid for a long time. Pre-Loma Prieta this was my neighborhood but now reside at the opposite side of town. Finally a Friday night came along that was open so husband, dog and I decided to check it out. After an hour of looking for parking and almost being sideswiped (by someone probably hungrier than ourselves), we scored a spot South of Safeway near the park. It was now about 7:30 and the fog had rolled in full force with wind so we are talking Mark Twain Summer in San Francisco cold...make that freezing.

Still , we were on a mission so on we forged ahead. Once we made into Fort Mason proper we were met with a mob scene. Lines for days and chairs scattered around but no tables to sit at and eat. Really? This is the best that can be done? The end result is was we hightailed it out of there and went to a restaurant. There must be a better way to configure the setup for all the trucks and patrons. There was nothing fun about it. We weren't expecting anything fancy - far from it - but while it might be foodie heaven the experience shouldn't be onerous.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LDGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC Metro
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fresh & fun food truck market and live DJ at Fort Mason”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

While walking along the Embarcadero on a Friday afternoon, I literally stumbled upon this multi-cultural food truck and live DJ/music fest at Fort Mason (http://offthegridsf.com/markets/fort-mason-center). I didn't know anything about it beforehand, but it was one of the day's highlights, to be sure.

I had been walking with my family for hours, on our way to the Golden Gate Bridge, but decided to stop for a bite to eat. Within minutes we decided to take this exciting, yummy detour and head for the bridge the next day.

The food trucks included Jewish soul food, Filipino, Thai, Indian street food, craft beer, kettle (and other varieties of) popcorn, tacos, Vietnamese, Korean BBQ, bacon, creme brulee, cupcakes; a wine bar and cocktail lounge. We had food from the Thai and Indian trucks, and drinks from the lounge and wine bar.

The prices were reasonable, the crowd was friendly (folding chair seating is first-come-first served) and the DJ was very good (mixing pop, salsa, R&B/hip hop).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SRNYCMetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarra Valley, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Foodies Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We intended to visit this urban outing after reading about it in Lonely Planet. A collection of Food Vans and artisan produce makers mated with micro brewers, small wine creators and pumping music.

It was everything we were hoping for and more!

There are several locations where these events pop up and we decided to visit the Fort Mason locale in San Fransisco. Set at an old army barracks on the docks by the bay a large carpark houses some 50+ food and drink options amongst a family and younger crowd, all casual and carefree.

There was a really interesting fusion of different culturally food stuffs and my favorite was Koja, a Japanese/Korean mix of BBQ pulled meat, grilled rice cakes and kimchi.

Swallowed down with a couple of local beers and resplendent in a perfect late Friday afternoon sunny aspect, we enjoyed the vibe and walked back to our motel to assist with reducing the excess baggage we consumed.

This is a MUST for anyone wanting to get involved in a local community from a food and entertainment aspect. The atmosphere is vibrant, the offerings exceptional and the locals inviting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NudeFoodDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Off the Grid also viewed

 

Been to Off the Grid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing