We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delancey Street Restaurant

Delancey Street Restaurant
Ranked #270 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: SoMa
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The concept behind the restaurant is an excellent on and I have sampled others like it in south east Asia where I believe the idea originated.
The place was quiet when I visited - early evening - and the service was excellent, it filled up as time went on and by the time I left it was almost full. The food was well prepared and well served and good value for what we paid. I would certainly visit again.
Very well located for an early evening meal before walking on to AT&T Park.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    66
    16
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Inspiring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were staying in SF on business but wanted to go out for dinner one evening, rather than stay at the hotel. One of my colleagues found this and IT WAS GREAT!!

The reason for the restaurant being there is inspiring and the staff are just brilliant. Really good service and very very friendly. We even talked to them about what the Foundation does and how it is helping them get back on their feet. I hope they achieve everything they are looking for.

The food and wine was really well priced and the menu just so wide and varied. Great choice.

The wine was good, but then you expect that.

The food was great. There were 15 of us in a private dining room so there was plenty of options chosen and they all looked fab.

Then there was the deserts. Four of our group had the Rum Laden Banana Split and all i can say was it was MASSIVE.

Overall, it was fantastic, the fact that the Foundation is doing such a great job, meant we left feeling humble, lucky and pleased to have been able to pay for good food that will help some more people back onto their feet.

YOU SHOULD VISIT!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
Level Contributor
116 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Delancey Street is an organization that helps people who have had a difficult life. The employees are given housing, education and a job skill. There is Delancey Street moving company that we used twice. The most honest, polite movers I have ever had, and I've had about seven moves. Well, we found this restaurant, which is a part of the Delancey Street organization.

First of all, the food is outstanding! The last time I was there, I had a rack of baby back ribs for about $10.99. It came with a HUGE piece of sweet potato pie that was so delicious, I bought a pie to take home. I can't remember what else came with the meal, but I know there was something else on the plate. The appetizers are delicious, and SO inexpensive. As a matter of fact, the entire menu is inexpensive, but the food is stellar! The service is great, too; everyone is so nice, polite and willing to please. I recommend Delancey Street to EVERYONE!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank birdie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great value, great service, great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Looking for a reasonably priced restaurant on the SF waterfront? This is it. Part of the Delancey Foundation--a wonderful organization that works with people rebuilding their lives when they have gotten off-track, the menu is simple, the food excellent and the prices a bargain. I had the ribs--melt in your mouth with a nicely spiced sauce. Husband had the hamburger--lean, big, tasty patty. Good wines by the glass and a decent beer collection. And with a view of the Bay Bridge and the Bay from the outdoor patio? A great SF spot. Close to AT &T Park as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Muggo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
368 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good food in a nice athosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Friends took us to Delancey street restaurant and it did not disappoint us. The atmosphere of the place is friendly and with a nice view of the Bay bridge across the street. The menu is quite extensive with some out-of-the-ordinary choices. The quality of the dishes was good but not outstanding. The wine chart is also extensive but slightly pricey. A nice extra is the knowledge that this restaurant is helping former inmates to get back on their feet by offering them a job in the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HansCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delancey Street Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Delancey Street Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing