We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enlightening and entertaining for kids(!) and adults”

All About Chinatown Tours
Ranked #68 of 343 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This walking tour of Chinatown is now in its 35th year. Join us as we visit historic landmarks, fortune cookie factory, the Stockton Street food markets, a secluded Chinese temple, an herbal pharmacy and more. Complete the visit with a dim sum luncheon at one of Chinatown's legendary restaurants.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed January 2, 2017

The four kids ages 9 - 14 got so much more out of is that we five adults could have imagined. The highlight of the kids entire San Francisco visit was the tea tasting (which tied in their opinion with The Lion King). They went home, drank tea and talked about ying and yang. Our jaws dropped. Our guide, Jim Adams, talked to the kids as equals. We all learned about the history in a way we had never heard before. The Fortune Cookie factory was a hit, of course, but they were also interested in the praying in the temples. The dim sum luncheon was partially dim sum and partially standard Chinese food, but it was all good. For those of us who were locals, we wished we had done this a long time ago.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank SWH166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda L, Owner at All About Chinatown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2017

It's not easy to impress four kids ages 9-14, but Jim Adams is an exceptional tour guide and your positive review supports his great tours. Thanks for the detailed descriptions of what your party found so memorable: the tea tasting, Chinatown's history, the temple, and everybody's favorite, the fortune cookie factory. The cookie factory and the tea shop are open daily, so please return at any time to enjoy this special neighborhood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"linda lee"
in 51 reviews
"dim sum lunch"
in 11 reviews
"fortune cookie factory"
in 9 reviews
"great tour"
in 21 reviews
"tour guide"
in 17 reviews
"chinese immigrants"
in 3 reviews
"grew up"
in 4 reviews
"booked this tour"
in 6 reviews
"an amazing guide"
in 2 reviews
"first hand"
in 2 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 3 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 3 reviews
"culture"
in 19 reviews
"schooling"
in 2 reviews
"insider"
in 2 reviews
"childhood"
in 2 reviews
"neighborhood"
in 6 reviews
Filter

77 - 81 of 411 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2016

Date of experience: May 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2016

Date of experience: October 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile

Thank you Linda Lee for the tour/adventure today of Chinatown! We really enjoyed how you made us feel like we were visiting your neighborhood and not tourists!

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank NHowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda L, Owner at All About Chinatown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2016

While Chinatown is one of San Francisco's popular tourist destinations, it is a community of stores, institutions, and residents. I'm glad you felt welcome in the my hood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2016

We had a wonderful time and learned so much. My mom can walk with cane and enjoys having her wheel chair handy when tired. Linda was very helpful in picking a safe waking path for my mom and asked the community in chinese to make room for the wheelchair. Thanks for helping with the wheel chair and being so accommodating to my mother's needs. Linda tailored her talk to our interests and was very knowledgeable about the local community.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Toygerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda L, Owner at All About Chinatown Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2016

I'm glad you both had a wonderful time and learned a lot. Chinatown is full of history and culture and is accessible for all. With a little patience to navigate busy streets and some slight hills, the best way to visit Chinatown is by walking and can be visited in a wheelchair as well.
Happy holidays to you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed All About Chinatown Tours also viewed

 

Been to All About Chinatown Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing